We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique breakfast spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colossal Cafe

Colossal Cafe
1839 E. 42nd St. (at Cedar Avenue), Minneapolis, MN
612-729-2377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #149 of 1,578 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, European, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Bismarck
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Unique breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We saw this place on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives and wanted to try the apple/brie pancakes. They were awesome. We also had an omelette with the hashbrowns inside. They've got lots of unique menu items and it was tough to choose. They put a lot of work into everything the make; you can tell by the taste. Not much room, but it added to the charm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    22
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Recommended by friends in the neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I asked a friend for a good place to meet for breakfast near her St. Anthony neighborhood on Como in Saint Paul. She recommended "Colossal" at 2315 Como. Looks like this place has a Minneapolis location too, as I couldn't find it in StPaul in TripAdvisor.

It's a small, casual (order at register), neighborhood-friendly place. Late in the morning, the place was just over half full with customers, so the service seemed prompt. We all had different breakfast sandwiches that were nicely prepared, reasonably priced, and delicious, although "bigger eaters" would probably prefer larger options that were on the menu. All three of the available coffees were fresh and hot. I'd probably eat there three or more times per week if I had a clean, comfortable place such as this in my Texas neighborhood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Try the St. Paul location as well - One of Como Avenue's Gems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This lovely, unpretentious little place is big where it counts. The menu is inventive, offering something for everyone (from fabulous burgers - my companion's choice) to vegetarian items and seasonal specials (I had an arugula salad with roasted butternut squash, wild rice, and chevre! wowza!). I hadn't seen the DDD review - but had heard that the host of the show raved about the Colossal's pancakes. The Como Avenue location was ideally located for me as it's close to the St. Paul campus of the U of M, where I had gone to visit the incredible Raptor Center in the morning. To be honest, I'd forgotten about the Colossal and made my way to Como Avenue to find the Finnish Bistro and Bakery...which is a short block down the street but happend to be full to bursting with customers when I drove by . Luckily, the Colossal sign caught my eye and the meal we had there was great. Afterwards we strolled down the block, and enjoyed a browse around a charming little shop called Bibleot (I believe it's a chain but it had a distinctly neighbourhood feel and offered more than the usual trinkets). I bought some unusual and beautiful pastries at the Finnish Bistro, to take to a friend - and I will have to try for lunch there the next time I am in the Twin Cities.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DES MOINES
1 review
“Wonderful Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was there this last march and went after seeing it on DD&Dives. I had the pancakes with brie and walnuts. It was such a great place, and one of the things that made is memorable was the owners beautiful mother working there that morning. She was simply one of the nicest, most kind, lovely people I have ever met. Being a single traveler she made me feel extremely welcome when I felt kind of awkward being alone. I will always remember the place, the food, and the kindness there and definately will be back next tme I'm in Minneapolis. Keep doing the wonderful job!

Mike from Iowa

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago vicinity
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Small, very small, neighborhood joint.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We went for breakfast and managed to grab one of the last open tables. Despite the name, the Colossal seats, perhaps, 15 people indoors and a ike number outdoors.

My wife ordered a full stack of the apple-walnut-brie flappers (instead of a short stack) and I tried a breakfast sandwich on a freshly made biscuit (along with half of my wife's flappers). {Flappers are reportedly a Minnesota thing- yeasty pancakes.}Both dishes were execellent though the trick with the flappers is to let the brie melt thoroughly.

We'll be back to try the lunch menu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colossal Cafe also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Colossal Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colossal Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.