We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud atrium--no sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Minneapolis Marriott West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Minneapolis Marriott West to your Saves list
Minneapolis Marriott West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9960 Wayzata Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #10 of 48 Hotels in Minneapolis
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loud atrium--no sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am writing this after trying to go to sleep. The atrium is very loud. When I politely asked the loud people in the lobby to please be considerate, they blew me off with very rude comments.

I really like the convenience of this place and usually have a good stay. Perhaps your rooms could have some better sound proofing.

Room Tip: Do not take an atrium room!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Danecounty,

Thank you or taking the time to express your concerns about your stay with us. I'm very sorry to hear your stay was uncomfortable due to noise from the lobby. I'm glad that you have stayed with us before and that you had good experiences previously. We will defintely pay close attention to noise coming from the lobby in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    67
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
45
25
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I lived in Minneapolis for a number of years, but moved away about 12 years ago. I was back in town for a wedding in Wayzata, and to visit friends in the area. I was accompanied by my brother, from Arizona, and we stayed for three nights.

Right from the start the experience was outstanding...the lobby was inviting and the staff welcomed us as we walked in. Ken D. was at front desk and proceeded to check us in; and, he even helped with our luggage. He learned we were going to meet friends, within the hour, for a Happy Hour near the hotel. So, he arranged for the shuttle to take us there. (My brother and I agreed that Ken was SO service-oriented, that we wouldn't be surprised if he also drove us to the Happy Hour!) He could not have been more professional and polite. My brother, whose business travels have had him often using another brand hotel chain, was so impressed. As someone who likes Marriott, I too was very pleased.

Friends gave us a ride back to the Marriott that night; but, we were hungry and did not want to get in our car to go back out and find a late night place for dinner. So, we just walked into the on-property restaurant & pub, Kips, and they said they were open, but the kitchen was closing in 10 minutes...still, they welcomed us in and said we could order from the full dinner menu. We both felt that the service was wonderful and the food was excellent. This was day one; and, the rest of of our trip, and our experience with this hotel for the three days we were there, continued to be just as accommodating and impressive.

We had a spacious south facing room, on the 6th floor, with lots of windows. The room was very clean and very comfortable. Each day we left and returned to the room at varied times; and, the housekeeping staff was always very courteous and accommodating to our timelines and requests. We did have occasion on one night to use the hot tub and pool; and, other than the hot tub being not as hot as I like at home (think lobster pot)...the pool area was all very clean and nice.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay in the area. And, while I typically hope for a hotel stay to at least not have a negative impact on a fun trip, and to just be neutral and a non-factor...in this case it actually ended up being a plus and added to the overall enjoyment of the trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear kayestbee,

Thank you very much for the great review. I'm happy to hear your stay and the service from Ken was outstanding. We will defintely recgonize Ken for his excellent service. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Minneapolis.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for an overnight and had a great time. The room was large and clean. The pool was large and empty (which was great). Check-in service is good and the hotel is very clean. We checked out through the room, which was easy.

We liked the soaps in the room and the shower and room were very clean.

The attached pub is acceptable, but not great. The food was fine, but not great. They had a good selection beers on tap and the service was prompt and friendly.

Room Tip: Not much of a view no matter where your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Alinmn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel has an atrium in the middle and our room was on the 4th of 7 floors. It felt like you could hear every conversation in the lobby and made for a less relaxing stay. The walls of our room were paper thin and we were kept up by the people partying across the hall and could hear the voices of the people in the room next to us too. The room was clean and the bathroom was a nice size. The air conditioning unit blows directly into the face of the person sleeping on that side of the bed. On a positive note, we ate breakfast there and it was good.

Room Tip: stay on the non-atrium side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear MamaG3,

I'm terribly sorry for the noise issues you experienced while staying with us. I understand the lobby atrium rooms at times get a bit noisier than other areas of the hotel. I hope you choose to return so we can assign you a room in a quiet location. Thank you for your comment about breakfast in Kip's, I agree it is a great place to eat. Thank you for the review and I hope your next stay is much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Park
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We purchased our hotel room through a Groupon and were so delighted. The interior of this hotel is beautiful and the room, equally so. The hotel staff was professional and friendly. I would definitely stay here again for another in-town getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Front Office Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello James B,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are happy to hear your experience with us was great and hope we see you in the future. Thank you for purchasing our Groupon offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and never had a bad experience. I especially like the nice touch of a complimentary glass of wine when checking in after a day of work. Kipps (the restaurant in the hotel) has great staff, always friendly and helpful. I have to eat gluten free and while they don't have a GF menu they do make me feel comfortable I am safe and they help me find something I would like.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Front Office Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear James B,

Thank you very much for the nice review. We are very pleased you always have a pleasant stay with us and thank you for your loyalty. We will be waiting your return with a glass of wine ready for you at check in.

Please visit Kip's Irish Pub's Tripadvisor page if you have a moment, they would love to hear your feedback.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at the Mpls Marriott West for one night. The lobby and entry was sparkling as I entered and the staff was attentive and polite. They were extremely helpful in arranging a room that I could get into early. The south facing room, located on the 6th floor, was almost perfect -- the room seemed to be all windows providing a nice view on a gloriously sunny day. The room was super clean and the best was very comfortable. The only thing I would recommend to the hotel is that, if possible, the rooftops be made more "green". Overall, a fantastic visit.

Room Tip: Room on south side was all windows -- large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan G, Front Office Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear RMM0246,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a very nice review. I'm happy to hear your stay with us was fantastic and the service was great. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minneapolis Marriott West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott West

Address: 9960 Wayzata Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55426
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#12 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#13 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis West Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minneapolis Marriott West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.