We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Minneapolis Marriott West

Save Saved
You added Minneapolis Marriott West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Minneapolis Marriott West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9960 Wayzata Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55426   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #14 of 48 hotels in Minneapolis
CHICAGO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very accomodating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Hotel staff was spectacular, room was large, clean and well maintained. Located right off the highway, so getting downtown via car is simple. The coffee barista was very friendly. The restaurant leaves something to be desired though, the hostess was rude. the fair was ok, but definitely not Irish. guess it's just the schtick for "Kips"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I'm sorry that your experience in the restaurant was not better and I have followed up. Thank you for your nice comments, particularly on Judith in Caribou Coffee. She really is a gem.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    60
    22
    5
    4
See reviews for
42
23
12
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I ended up staying here unexpectedly as a result of Booking.com error with another booking. I arrived very late but was impressed by the welcome at the reception and the overall quality of the hotel .The rooms are large, clean and comfortable with free wifi. Breakfast was served in an 'Irish Bar' which goes by the name of 'Kips' and it was plentiful and good value. The hotel is off a freeway but there is a small shopping mall close by and a small park immediately adjacent to it.The only slight issue for me was its distance to downtown Minneapolis (where I was meant to be staying) but that would probably not be a problem for anyone traveling by car. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thanks for your great comments! We do serve a glass of wine upon check-in Mon-Thurs nights. And, in the spirit of progress, we currently do not charge for standard Wi-Fi in our guestrooms. Ours guest do have to accept the charges when they first login, but the charges are automatically adjusted off before check-out. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadisonVacationer
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed at the Minneapolis Marriott West one night in September and was wowed by the service and overall value to the hotel. Upon check-in I was greeted by a friendly front desk worker who offered me a glass of wine! That is just what I needed after driving a couple hours to the Twin Cities! The room was very nice and well-equipped with all the usual amenities. The wi-fi worked very well too. The bed was very comfortable and had plenty of pillows. I liked it so much I just booked a room for this coming weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you! We are very proud of the staff at the front desk and your acknowledgement goes a long way. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Well... I stayed for one night a couple weeks ago with a friend for a night away from our kids. The bathroom wasn't super clean-- a hair on the toilet seat, soap scum on the sink faucet for example. I have never seen that at a Marriott in my many hotel stays. But the kicker was apparently they have thin walls and cowardly staff. My friend and I were up late talking and laughing. No music, no TV, no party... just two people talking. Well, security banged on our door and told us to keep it down or we'd have to be moved. Really? No phone call from the front desk as a courtesy? I was shocked to see a rent-a-cop outside our door. Two middle aged working moms causing a disturbance at the Marriott. What a joke. As a Marriott Elite member, I was pretty disappointed with how the situation was handled.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I was very surprised to hear of these issues during your stay and sincerely apologize. I can’t imagine what happened but promise to look into them. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our recent three-night stay for a wedding was marred by one persistent glaring irritant. We were there for a wedding and spent a lot of time socializing in the bar/restaurant with relatives and friends. From breakfast to close, the restaurant continuously serves right-wing political propaganda on half its televisions--the other half are on sports. While Fox News has higher ratings than any nonpartisan news channel, that's only because of the loyalty of its highly opinionated viewers. For the rest of America, Fox is a joke or worse. No one in our group liked it and it really irritated a few. When we asked the staff to change the channel or turn it off, we were give a remote control that did not work on the sets hovering above our group.

Why establishments that seem to want to be places for pleasant, noncontroversial sociable gatherings display continuous, controversial, partisan propaganda is beyond me. Set the tvs on any of the nonpartisan channels and change to the controversy-promoting stuff only when asked, instead of vice-versa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
You are absolutely correct in your feedback, we should be displaying neutral programming. THANK YOU so much for bringing this to my attention, it has been corrected.
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was in town for a funeral. After leaving original Red Roof Inn because of major cleanliness issues arrived late evening after 5 hour drive, extremely tired, physically impaired. The staff immediately extended compassionate, courteous service with a quick check-in plus loaded my luggage cart & pushed to elevator for me!!! Hospitable, Courteous, Efficient, Comfortable & Clean! Sunday AM meditation on bench by the bubbling, soothing fountain directly in front of hotel was the perfect ending to what could've been an extremely stressful weekend. No free breakfast but Trader Joes, Caribou Coffee just down the road for staples.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments and I'm happy that we could be a refuge for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Called a day ahead to confirm reservation and choose room type. Staff on the phone told me I'd have a choice of a king with pull-out couch or two queens when we arrived. Confirmation complete and told her I'd see her the next evening. Arrived with my husband and three kids (one being a baby) at around 4:00 on Saturday with plans to stay until Monday. I was surprised to be told, "We are all out of queen rooms and king rooms with a pull-out couch." I wasn't sure what I'd do since we have three children. She just shrugged her shoulders and said, "I'm sorry." She did add anything further, so I just stood there confused. I then reminded her I had called the day before to confirm my reservation and was assured there would be availability to accomodate our family. She again just stood there and looked at me. She was friendly enough, but certainly not helpful UNTIL I started to push the issue. I told her I was a Marriott rewards member and that I've stayed there in the past, so that was why I was surprised this was happening. She then leaned over to her cowoker and excused herself to talk to the manager. She came back and offered us two rooms at the Hampton nearby. This is a hotel I knew NOTHING about and how was our family going to split up into TWO rooms? That would be odd accommodations, especially for a trip that was meant to be "family time." I then again proceeded to ask, "Isn't there ANYTHING else you can do?" I said, "I'll just squeeze our family into the king room with a cot." She then said, "I'm sorry, but my manager told me you can't have one of those rooms because there would be too many people in the room." Oh my. I wanted to just walk out at this point (it had been 10 minutes or so and was almost getting embarrasing). I just stood there in disbelief and told her I didn't know what to do. She then excused herself again and came back saying they could upgrade us to a suite. Really? I was just surprised that this error took that much of my time and my effort to fix. In the end, the suite was perfect, clean and had a beautiful view. However, I would be leary about reserving here again for fear of it being overbooked. When I passed the desk later that evening, I heard another lady being offered a room at the Hampton. Wow. This lady did not look happy either. I just found this odd. Hotel is clean, but nothing fancy. We did eat at Kip's restaurant and it was very good, but quite slow. (I would not recommend going there if you have a hungry family. I think it took over 30 minutes to get our food.) Pool was clean; nothing fancy. Hot tub was nice, but could have been a bit warmer. Hotel staff were friendly and welcoming when we'd exit and enter the hotel. Maid did forget to leave a second roll of toiilet paper the first time she cleaned our room, so we had to call on our checkout morning to get more (we were totally out). It took three calls to finally get someone to bring us some. Not a big deal, but a bit frustrating when you have little ones along. The hotel is located in a quiet area. The frontage road basically takes you right to the shopping mall, which is nice. All in all, I would probably stay again. However, next time I would confirm my reservations specifically and perhaps call again the day off to ensure my room is being held. A bit disappointed that I had to push the issue so much beings I am a Marriott Rewards member and long-time customer. (I've been upgraded before for "no reason" beings I was a member, but have never had to actually argue to actually get a room after a confirmed reservation????)

Room Tip: Confirm reservations the day of to ensure accuracy and holding. Suites are all windows and are beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Manager at Minneapolis Marriott West, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some great feedback. We are very sorry for the problem you experienced while staying with us and understand your frustration and disappointment during check in. I’m very pleased to hear the rest of your stay was comfortable and the staff was friendly. Thank you so much for the feedback and we will be working hard to improve for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Minneapolis Marriott West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minneapolis Marriott West

Address: 9960 Wayzata Blvd, Minneapolis, MN 55426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#15 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#19 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Minneapolis Marriott West 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Minneapolis Marriott West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Minneapolis West Hotel Minneapolis
Minneapolis Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minneapolis Marriott West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.