We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lakewood Cemetery

Lakewood Cemetery
3600 Hennepin Ave South, Minneapolis, MN 55408
612 822 2171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 169 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most beautiful cemeteries in the country
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you like cemetaries, this one is beautiful. Both my parents are buried here, as well as some notable Minnesota public figures

Helpful?
1 Thank HawaiiHarrisons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

It may seem a little morbid to some, but i love visiting cemetery's. And this one blew me away. It is huge, and filled with beautiful head stones which to be honest are like little pieces of art. It's well maintained and looked after, and if you're like me and like visiting cemetery's, then please go and visit this one!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank GemmyGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Memorial Day festivities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I attended their annual Memorial Day festivities this year. The service was well planned, and included tributes to Abraham Lincoln, veterans and those who gave their lives in service to our country. It was patriotic, but not over the top. The musical selections were well chosen, and were performed by the MPD Police Band and a local gospel quartet.

In the past, I have been on a guided walking tour of Lakewood--focusing on the history of Minneapolis and highlighting famous founders who are buried there. It is peaceful and beautifully landscaped.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you love cemetaries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This cemetery is located by some of Minneapolis' favorite walking lakes. It is large with lots of old gravestones to look at. There is a nice road to drive on or park and walk along in the serene atmosphere. There are also ponds which is always a plus.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alimar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful & historic walk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you like walking through cemetaries and seeing the history this is a great one to do it at. Along with a lot of Minneapolis history there is also the beautiful view and landscaping that makes it enjoyable. Looking up some of the cemetary's history also makes it even more interesting. Be a little careful, the grounds are so big that it is possible to get lost in here, which I did.

Helpful?
Thank BlueTravelers006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakewood Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Lakewood Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing