We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Harriet Band Shell

Lake Harriet Band Shell
4135 West Lake Harriet Parkway, Minneapolis, MN 55409
612 661 4785
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 269 things to do in Minneapolis
Attraction details
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Interesting architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stopped here on our Grandf Rounds drive and loved the band shell and seating arrangement. Would love to go back when there is a performance of some kind. The area, in general, is nice but certainly this band shell is a standout.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a wonderful way to catch a summer concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Band Shell has all types of entertainment - orchestras, bands, church services. You can either sit in the provided seats, stretch out on a blanket, or watch from the comfort of your canoe. (A little harder to hear in your canoe as the music faces the other direction and there is a barrier -it depends on who's playing). A wonderful Minneapolis tradition.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just so happened to be walking around the lake one evening after we just moved here and we milled around a bit taking in the scene. It is right on the lake. There was a food venue open right next to the music theater. The seats were all full, people sitting on the grass and little kids just in front of the stage dancing, as little kids do.

You could feel a sense of community, it felt a lot like a block party where everyone was invited. It reminded me of that kind of magic when I was a kid that you felt when you went to a drive-in movie. The band that was playing was okay, not great, but it didn't matter because it was so much more about the experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Band Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Decided to celebrate the last day of August at Lake Harriet picnic area along with a special blue moon and band concert.
Evening was perfect temp, band "Tom, Dick & Harry" played cover songs and was just enough to still be able to converse with our party.
Our new puppy enjoyed the squirrels and small children and overall it was a beautiful nite, we closed down the park at 11pm.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Architecture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

One of three soaring, magical, castlelike, buildings on Lake Harriet, that you can see from all around the lake. There is a huge plexiglass window at the back of the stage looking out over the lake. There are many free concerts and a large parking area, with access to the lake and walking paths.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Harriet Band Shell also viewed

 

Been to Lake Harriet Band Shell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Harriet Band Shell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.