We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Alton Live” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
State Theatre
805 Hennepin Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
612 339 7007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 87 Attractions in Minneapolis
Attraction details
Eagan, Minnesota
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Alton Live”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

As the title says, we went to see Alton Brown's Live Show. I could spend a lot of time raving about the show, but I'll focus on the location.

I love the quaint historic decor of this place. Ornate painting, high ceilings and atmosphere that suits almost anything. We've been to Joseph, Phantom and many other venues here. Haven't found a bad seat yet.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
477 reviews 477 reviews
153 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Saw Nutcracker here, very well maintained place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Beautiful old theater, very well maintained. Warning re rest-rooms for women...like many vintage theaters lines get long.

This is a beautiful place to enjoy a vast array of performances. Real downtown landmark - and often possible to park in lot directly across the street for not huge amount of 4.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful old theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We decided to get tickets to see Lorie Line while visiting Mpls. and were excited to be able to see the inside of this beautiful historic theatre. They just don't build places like this anymore. Make sure you walk around to enjoy all the portraits and chandeliers.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and great sound”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Overall the State is a nice place to see music as the sound is great. And it is a very nice building as well. They do need to update some things such as seating - the chairs are awful and there is no leg room in the rows. They should also look at some rearranging when it comes to placement of bars as usually it is blocking the way to get in - or the way to get to a bathroom - over even caused blockage of getting to main floor door 4. Maybe with all the money that is being invested downtown like building a new stadium for a very poor football team - some of that money should be used to revamp some of these awesome venues for music and theater.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I saw Billy Crystal's show here a couple of weeks ago. This is a great theater in the old world tradition. I had great orchestra seats but the seats themselves were the type you would find in a high school auditorium. although the leg room was very generous. Drinks in the lobby bar were nice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.