We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
State Theatre
805 Hennepin Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (University / Dinkytown)
612 339 7007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 115 attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Theaters
Attraction Details
cmcdmc
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Historic and grand. Loved the feel and atmosphere. Completely loved it, and will definitely return. Service and ushers were completely pleasant and professional.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Musicals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's a wonderful older theater very ornate. Good seating and sight lines where ever you are seated. The acoustics are very nice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Maya Angelou spoke here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

While it's a large theater, we still felt like it was an intimate gathering, but then, that's Maya.

The State is one of those incredibly old theaters that has been expertly renovated and kept at the grand style of the era it was built. I have also seen Broadway plays here and I have to say, the theater is as much a part of the charm as the production.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the State Theatre! It is beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

If you ever get a chance to get dressed up and go here do it! It is beautiful! We love to see Lori Line do her Christmas show. We have always sat on the main level. I am not sure how the Balcony seats are.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Celtic Thunder Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This concert was absolutely wonderful. We had never seen Celtic Thunder before, but we are definately going to see them again. It was a very upbeat and enjoyable concert. We would highly recommend this concert to other couples for a great night out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added State Theatre to your Saves list