We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful theatre with great acoustics” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
State Theatre
805 Hennepin Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55402
612 339 7007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 269 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Hopkins, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre with great acoustics”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A great place for anything from music to comedy. Beautifully restored and all seats are good. Not so large you might as well watch on TV.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    16
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The State Theater has maintained it beauty and elegance while having great sound and lighting. We love attending any type of live performance here

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great little venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I have seen Lewis Black, Gordon Lightfoot, Robert Plant, Jim Gaffigan.And I have never been disappointed. Great place, Good location, convenient parking. Lots of restaurants. The only thing I would complain about is the restrooms are upstairs, and so is the concessions. But you can't have everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful theater/good sound”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I have seen many shows here. It is far superior to the Orpheum for site lines. In the Orpheum, it is very hard to see the performer if you are on the main floor because of the lack of slope. You're out of luck if someone tall sits in front of you and don't even think of bringing a child. In the State Theater (same vintage), the slope is better and it is beautifully restored. We always enjoy shows here.

I wish they did not allow drinks in here. Since it's a historic landmark, we should take good care of it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hibbing, MN
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The State Theater has a great location downtown near many great restaurants. The State theater is well kept and very nice

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage State Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.