We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basilica of St. Mary

Basilica of St. Mary
88 North 17th St, Minneapolis, MN 55403
612 333 1381
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 87 Attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: nation's first basilica
Chico, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is just beautiful. Probably one of the oldest churches in Minnesota. Wow. Mass here with the choir made me so emotional, tears ran down my face!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely piece of historic architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Regardless of your faith - or lack thereof, for that matter - the basillica is worth a visit. It is beautiful to look at both inside and out; in the daytime or at night. It's location is such that it's just a short jaunt from popular destinations like the sculpture garden and the art museum. So, if you're in the neighborhood, and you have any appreciation for art, history, beauty, architecture, or any combination, it's certainly worth a look.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otsego, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful, wonderful church!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great location, beautiful church, wonderful people. We were married here, had our children baptised here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“1st Basilica in the U.S.!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just think of the beautiful memories people have over the past 100 years at the Basilica of St. Mary. The Cathedral Choir at Sunday Mass is the closest "sound-to-Heaven" one will hear upon this earth. To witness a bride walking down the aisle upon her father's arm is one of the most endearing sights I've ever seen! That bride was my own daughter. The Basilica is filled with breathtaking history, whichever direction one might choose to look. It is my "second home." I always feel very welcome there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Spot on the Edge of Downtown Minneapoli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Great sound for choir music. Take advantage of the acoustics with the Rose Ensemble or other vocal ensemble.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica of St. Mary also viewed

 

Been to Basilica of St. Mary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilica of St. Mary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.