We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get out an enjoy the day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Harriet

Lake Harriet
West 42nd St and West Lake Harriet Parkway, Minneapolis, MN 55409
+1 612 661 4800
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 115 attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Get out an enjoy the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'm a frequent visitor to Lake Harriet, and find that it has a good balance of business and space compared to the other lakes in the Minneapolis chain of lakes. It's far enough from Uptown that it has less busy feel, yet has lots to offer. Check out a concert at its bandshell most summer evenings, stroll through the neighboring rose gardens, throw a Frisbee or fly a kite in the open area between the lake and the rose gardens, run/walk the ~3 mile circle around the lake, ride the historic trolley, grab a snack or meal at the concession stand, or visit the Linden Hills retail/restaurant only a block or two off the lake on the West side.

If being in the water is for you, there are two beaches (one on the North end and one on the Southeast side).

If being on the water is for you, there's a bike, canoe, kayak, etc. rental shack (weather permitting). If there's a breeze you'll find several sailboats out on the water. There is also a public boat ramp to launch your own sail or non-motorized boat.

The North end of the lake connects to Lake Calhoun via bike or walking trails neat the bandshell. The South end connects with Minnehaha creek walking and biking trials near the SE beach. Both are part of the grand rounds trail system.

Parking on the parkway is free (the lots now have meters but are usually open except during peak times).

Bring a picnic basket and stay for the afternoon!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    29
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great summer concerts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

bike and walking trails, beautiful lake, great concession stand; sailboats, enjoyable people watching. Family picnic area and playground.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Just Right Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Goldilocks said it best... so we call this the lake which is "just right." Full of joggers at certain times of the day, frequented by bikers (both commuters and excercisers) almost always, and visited by the occasional loon. It is generally a quiet lake, and the view never seems to be the same from day to day. The beaches seem to be well-loved, and the boating is obviously quite popular. The bandshell is an amazing place, given the frequency of presentations and shows there, and you can't beat the idea of a free outdoor movie on the weekend. Also, the food is excellent, and often quite unique.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not my favorite of the lake areas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I visited Lake of the Isles, Lake Calhoun and Lake Harriet and Lake Harriet was my least favorite. There were rowdy groups that were a bit intimidating to me unlike the other two recreational areas mentioned. I also saw no security in this location. Next time I'll go directly to Lake Calhoun.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rent a canoe, Have a sandwich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just south of the Minneapolis Metro area on Lake street is one of the highlights of the city. Lake Harriet and the adjoining Lake of the Isles is the perfect spot for a jog, a bike ride, or my favorite, a canoe tour and a fish sandwich at Tin Tin. (good food, and patio next to the canoe rental) I would advise a calm wind day. Parking can be a little challenging, but keep looking it's worth it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Harriet also viewed

 

Been to Lake Harriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Harriet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.