We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Harriet

Lake Harriet
West 42nd St and West Lake Harriet Parkway, Minneapolis, MN 55409
+1 612 661 4800
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 115 attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Mounds View
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“walking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Such a beautiful walk a long the lake. Wonderful walking trails and paths. It was fun waching all the people walking and hicking enjoying the scenery of the lake.
Watching families having fun with their families.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    29
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are visiting in the summer, the bandstand has top notch talent playing. A walk around the lake and a concert with famous popcorn makes for a delightful evening.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great for walking, kayaking, listening to music, people watching.....I am so lucky this is one of my neighborhood lakes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wooded and hilly lake similar to those of Western MI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Reminds me of lakes in Western MI. Plenty of trees, but it can get busy and the bike paths narrow a bit too much at times.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lake Harriet is frequently visited by families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I love Lake Harriet because each lake has it's own feel to it. Lake Harriet is more family oriented just because there is the bandshell there. If you look during the summer, free movies in the park are great. There is even a website:
www.mplsmusicandmovies.com/
Lake Harriet is calmer than Lake Calhoun, but again is family oriented. If you want to avoid some traffic, I suggest walking there. There are sailboats and a couple summer beaches. But, I love to walk to the bandshell and get ice cream, popcorn, and then listen to the free music in the summer. The best part, is you can bring a picnic and watch a movie or listen to music and it's in the open air and FREE!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Harriet also viewed

 

Been to Lake Harriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Harriet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake Harriet to your Saves list