We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places to be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Harriet

Lake Harriet
West 42nd St and West Lake Harriet Parkway, Minneapolis, MN 55409
+1 612 661 4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 276 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great for walking, kayaking, listening to music, people watching.....I am so lucky this is one of my neighborhood lakes.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    62
    9
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wooded and hilly lake similar to those of Western MI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Reminds me of lakes in Western MI. Plenty of trees, but it can get busy and the bike paths narrow a bit too much at times.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lake Harriet is frequently visited by families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I love Lake Harriet because each lake has it's own feel to it. Lake Harriet is more family oriented just because there is the bandshell there. If you look during the summer, free movies in the park are great. There is even a website:
www.mplsmusicandmovies.com/
Lake Harriet is calmer than Lake Calhoun, but again is family oriented. If you want to avoid some traffic, I suggest walking there. There are sailboats and a couple summer beaches. But, I love to walk to the bandshell and get ice cream, popcorn, and then listen to the free music in the summer. The best part, is you can bring a picnic and watch a movie or listen to music and it's in the open air and FREE!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“rent a bike and ride around the lakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Make sure you go to Peace Park, it is lovely. The lakes are a great place to rent a bike, go for a walk, or a swim in the summer. I hear you can skate on the lake in the winter.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Favorite walk and people watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Bike, walk, roller blade. Minneapolis' classic icon for young and young at heart.Ogle the city's unique natives, or ignore them and enjoy your circumnavigation. Fun with or without crowds, year after year. Must see place to bring visitors for the TRUE Twin Cities experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Harriet also viewed

 

Been to Lake Harriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Harriet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.