We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitey's World Famous Saloon

Whitey's World Famous Saloon
400 E Hennepin Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55414-1006 (University / Dinkytown)
612-623-9478
Improve this listing
Ranked #398 of 1,405 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: Barbecue
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
Iowa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Perfect spot for breakfast with great food and fresh squeezed juices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Tequila...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Love tequila and they definately have a couple flavors that are hard to find. The food is good and the location is in a good neighborhood.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great food, a little quirky on the drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I love their BBQ shrimp, beef tataki and portobello burger. However, I was always surprised at how few drinks the bartenders knew when I order there - really, don't know how to make a lemon drop martini? Otherwise a great neighborhood bar.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, Minnesota
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Really surprising, great lunch!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were walking north on Hennepin thinking about lunch. We were half thinking about Subway, but I was wondering about something different. My coworker suggested Whiteys. He said their lunch specials were always good.

Well why not, it was right there on the corner. We went in and were seated right away. The special was Chicken Fried Steak. Yes I know, not a healthy choice. If that was my thought I would have gone to Lunds for a salad.

We ordered a beer and while we were visiting we could hear pounding in the kitchen. The cook was making our lunch to order. He was pounding the meat out for the individual lunches. Almost unheard of. Within a short time our waitress brought our lunches to our table. They came with a huge portion of great mashed potatoes with gravey. It was delicious!!

I am definitly going back. After I told friends I went there, many of them told me they had been there as well, and really enjoyed it. I am adding Whiteys to my list of places in Minneapolis to eat.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Tasty burgers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Tasty burgers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitey's World Famous Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Whitey's World Famous Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitey's World Famous Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.