We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gluek's Restaurant & Bar

Gluek's Restaurant & Bar
16 N. 6th St., Minneapolis, MN 55403
(612) 338-6621
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gluek's Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #373 of 1,596 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: on 6th St. btw Hennepin & 1st Ave. North
Transit: We are at the Warehouse District stop on the Light Rail Transit line, just before Target Field. Gluek's is located just 100 steps from Target Field and only 50 steps from Target Center!
Description: Welcome to Gluek’s Restaurant & Bar - the OLDEST restaurant in downtown Minneapolis. Family Owned & Operated since 1934, Gluek's has been serving Minneapolis since Prohibition and is a local favorite!! Enjoy lunch, dinner, happy hour or host a private party in our FREE Banquet room...perfect for any occasion! The food is fabulous with generous portions and the friendly service will keep you coming back time and time again. Old world charm can be found everywhere at Gluek's with a European Beer Hall atmosphere, high arched ceilings, gorgeous stained glass windows and natural wood work. Have you had a GLUEK BEER today?! Minnesota has been drinking GLUEK BEER since 1857 so there's not a better time than NOW to go ahead and have one for yourself! We offer Gluek Pilsner, Gluek Golden Light, Gluek Red and Gluek Honey Brown on tap in 4 different sizes! Be like the bottle...say GLUEK GLUEK GLUEK!
Cape Coral, FL
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food and beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stopped in for dinner with a friend before a comedy show and we were very glad we did! We started off at the bar with a couple of beers and the pretzel sticks - the pretzels were amazing and the sauces that came with them were really good! We then moved to our table and each had a great sandwich with another couple of beers. Everything was really good, atmosphere was nice. Great little place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place to have a drink after a show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Gluek's is a nice place to grab a drink after a show. I've been there when it is not too busy. It can be hard to find a spot at the bar even when there are not many folks there.
Reasonable prices for drinks as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real history...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I made a visit back to Minneapolis, where I lived and went to college many years ago. Gluek's was always a favorite and still is... The beer, food and service is consistently wonderful. A great interior, very warm and comfortable. Makes me miss Minneapolis even more.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“How Reviews Come About”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We found this place and immediately fell in love. The ambiance, the decor and the liter sized beer won us over. We took a place towards the back as there was live music up front and we wanted to talk. The service was good, as was the food. Now comes the bad part. We were watching the TV as Monday Night Football was on and it was a nice visual. That was cool, but some guy came up to the end of the bar and grabbed the remote and changed the channel. No big deal, but the show he chose was. Some guys shooting a seal in the water, then dragging the carcass to shore and cutting off the head and skinning the animal. All the while the guy at the bar drank his drink. We sat there somewhat captive. We both lost our appetites. I no longer wanted another round and my wife didn't want to buy a souvenir shirt. We got the check, paid the bill and left. Just goes to show you how quickly a pleasant night out can go sour. Please, shopkeepers, keep the remote out of other's hands. You would have gotten a 5 rating but this guy soured us on this visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Business lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Casual envirinment for lunch. great mix of food and a very friendly staff. Also very reasonably priced.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gluek's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Gluek's Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gluek's Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.