We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I reeeeally want to meet Suzi to thank her” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Psycho Suzi's Motor Lounge

Psycho Suzi's Motor Lounge
1900 Marshall St. NE, Minneapolis, MN
612-788-9069
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 1,578 restaurants in Minneapolis
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I reeeeally want to meet Suzi to thank her”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Cool atmosphere. Very good staff. Most important of all, GREAT food. You can tell that a good deal of care and pride goes into their apps, drinks and the meals themselves. It might not be worth mentioning but the wooden plates were a nice feature. Lastly, the bathroom doors are funny. The handicapped bathroom doors are even more fun.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    93
    107
    38
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Izatys Townhouse
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Attention Wait Staff. I took it out on your tip.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

3rd time in a row we waited way too long for our food. Polite reminders to staff, management and email concerns have been sent. Close scan of tripadvisor comments confirm what we suspect. So this time I let the tip do my talking. Grand melt down domestic between man and woman on Sunday afternoon July 29th was real classy. The couple moved it out to the parking lot then next door Gluek Park while I and family were trying to leave.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love the vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The deck is amazing, food pretty good cost so..so drinks fantastic. Service could use some improvement on wait time and no reservations after 5pm. But I keep coming back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great setting, very good food, unusual drinks but slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you're not in a hurry try Psycho Suzi's. Food was really good and the place is quite interesting in its decor and outdoor seating (when it's not winter .. which in Minnesota is just a wee bit of the year).
Drink menu is pretty unusual with tropical beverages - mine was okay but not great.
Food, both appetizers and main course was very good.
The service was slow. They bill (be warned) contained a fee for buying your mug ($5) even if you don't take it with you - you have to get them to take it off the bill.
Not bad - I would go again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great fun, but beware the smokers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Psycho Suzi's is just a lot of fun. It's a former motel -- hence "motor lodge" in the name -- that they've converted to a restaurant with multi-level seating options. It's in an artsy part of Minneapolis, and it's right on the Mississippi River. They have an expansive patio area that is jam-packed in the summer.

We shared a pizza, which was quite tasty. The drinks were good, the service mostly attentive but could have been better. I chalk that up to servers having to keep an eye on a LOT of tables! (We went on a Tuesday evening, and the wait for a table was about 45 minutes!) There's an expansive patio area overlooking the river, and each table is covered with a large umbrella -- a tiki-style, thatched umbrella! Tiki torches line the outside of the patio, and at dusk, they light them up. It was great fun, seeing servers and patrons alike ducking under the umbrellas.

OK, so why beware? First, for a regular old thin-crust pizza, why a wait of more than 45 minutes? The menu doesn't say anything about it, but that wait only makes sense if they're truly making the dough from scratch for each and every pizza as the orders come in. But really? With seating for hundreds of people, and pizza as one of their claims to fame, can't you make dough in larger quantities, ahead of time? Is it really going to be of lesser quality?

Second, for those who care about or observe or react to these things, every waitress (I didn't happen to see a waiter in the place; they may well be there, but I didn't see one) had tattoos. Usually, lots of them. LOTS and lots of them. If this bothers you, just beware.

Third, and this was the most surprising in a liberal, enlightened town -- particular in the artsy area -- smoking was common. I do understand that if you're outside, the rules on smoking may be different than if you're inside. But really? Are there still places where you can go to have a couple drinks and eat a good meal and have to dodge smoke all over the place? That's just no fun. If you're sensitive or allergic to smoke, just avoid this place. There was no segregation of smokers from non-smokers.

I'd give Psycho Suzi's four stars if it weren't for the smoke, but that's a major drawback in my book. The food was good (not outstanding), the service was good (not outstanding), the atmosphere was fun and funky, the tattoos were everywhere, and the smoking made it all an experience that literally left a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Psycho Suzi's Motor Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Psycho Suzi's Motor Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Psycho Suzi's Motor Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.