We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Famous Dave's Apple Valley and Minneapolis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's BBQ Ribs & Blues

Famous Dave's BBQ Ribs & Blues
3001 Hennepin Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55408 (Uptown)
(612) 822-9900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #171 of 1,598 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $13 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Uptown
Apple Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Famous Dave's Apple Valley and Minneapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Being a chain, Famous Dave's is one of those places that suffers from inconsistency. We have not always enjoyed the same level of quality at some locations in outstate Minnesota but I would like to point out that the Famous Dave's in Apple Valley and the one in Minneapolis consistently provide great, high quality food and excellent service. In addition, my husband and I love the blues groups that are booked at Famous Daves in Minneapolis. While they may not be the very best ribs I have EVER had in my life, the quality is consistently very good every time we visit and if something does happen to go wrong, they work hard to make it right.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    52
    23
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Typical Minnesota Ribs....Too Wet and Too Sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Not the best barbecue but good for MN standards. Drenched in sauce, slippery as anything, and sweet. Not near the standards of Kansas City or Memphis.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It is a chain restrurant, but well done. I don't think I have had bad food here. Ribs are outstanding, Chicken is smoked to perfection, Brisket is great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I loved their "two meat special"! The amount of food was very generous and tasty! I like their take-out service when things get busy at home. I call ahead with my order and its ready when I get there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wahiawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING PLACE EVER!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

OMG FAMOUS DAVE'S IS THE MOST AMAZING RESTAURANT IN THE WORLD!!!!
It was my first time going there and omg the food was too good. We order the meal for two. And at first I though it was just going to be little items. GOOD GOSH!!!....THAT THING WAS A MONSTER. Meal for two??? More like a meal for 4 hahaha. There is no way on earth you can eat that alone without help. Unless you are super hungry lol.
That sucker was so huge that we end up taking most of it home with us to eat for breakfast.
Oh gosh, I felt like I was in heaven when sucking my teeth into that tasty ribs and other food that came with it. I wish they could make a restaurant in the state where I'm from I would return back everyday lol.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's BBQ Ribs & Blues also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's BBQ Ribs & Blues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's BBQ Ribs & Blues, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.