We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Omlettes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Keys Cafe - Nicollet Avenue

Keys Cafe - Nicollet Avenue
114 So. 9th Street, Minneapolis, MN 55403-2404 (Downtown)
612 339 6399
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 1,429 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Omlettes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Breakfast is really special here but you have to be very hungry.
Build your own omlette... starts with 3 eggs, cheese and goes from there. Pancakes are the full size of a dinner plate and sides of bacon, ham and sausage are abundant. When you're done, it's time for a morning nap. Great place for food and conversation... business or pleasure. Service is attentive and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    104
    34
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, mn
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The food was great, the service was good, the atmosphere was nice.
We found it a bit over priced for breakfast but in a downtown major city it probably was fairly priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Pancakes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Went to keys on a Sunday morning after a night on the town. I don't normally eat pancakes but for some reason they were calling my name. When they came out they were huge, fluffy, and pure delicious. Excellent coffee as well. FYI they don't serve liquor until 10am, really wanted a baileys and coffee.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselton, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had breakfast here the morning of the Vikings-Packers game. Lots of purple and green mixed together. Bloody Mary's....You could have a Minnesota one or a Wisconsin! Nice gimmick! Yes, I had a Wisconsin one:) The Miller High Life Pony as a chaser took the cake. Italian Hash and a Loon Omlet......Amazing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a Thing I Would Have Changed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

There's something quaint about stepping into a cafe and not only being greeted with a smile, but having that sense of days gone by. Our waiter brought everyone a glass of ice water, just like I remembered restaurants doing when I was a kid. This, I understand, doesn't cast any sort of appeal on everyone, but it did to me. The food portions are enormous. Do not expect anything less that an "Oh my goodness!" when your plate arrives. Food was served hot and fresh. My daughter's pancakes were served with a smiley face from M&Ms (she's just a kid) and that brightened her day. The services was friendly and I didn't have to request any refills because they were automatically brought to me. The restaurant was very clean, the seating comfortable. If I'm ever back in the area, I will make it a point to visit this cafe again! I wanted so badly to try some of the scrumptious looking baked goods at the service counter but was too full.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keys Cafe - Nicollet Avenue also viewed

 

Been to Keys Cafe - Nicollet Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keys Cafe - Nicollet Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.