We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place in uptown for wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar

Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar
1432 W 31st St, Minneapolis, MN 55408-2605 (Uptown)
612-825-1572
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,595 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Uptown
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
404 reviews 404 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Cozy place in uptown for wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stopped for desert and a glass of wine and its cozy environment and will need to come back to dine in future.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    39
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Consistent goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Have been to Lucia's numerous times. Never disappoints. Fresh, thoughtful, good food and wine. What I wish I would make at home.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Food not to miss, service could use a few changes...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food at Lucia's is not to miss. The service could use some improvements. Being a person who has worked in fine dining for many years, I might have high expectations, but why shouldn't I? I spent my time bending over backwards with a big smile on my face - why don't I get to enjoy that every once in a while? Lucia's is one place I have heard would deliver. But not this time, not in my opinion.
My handsome and I went to Lucia's without a reservation this weekend hoping for a snack and some nice wine an hour before the kitchen closed. We wanted to be in the bar but it was full with a wait - so we went to the dining room. We were well received by the host and seated quickly but the servers were ready to leave and seemed to have already checked out, even looking annoyed that we were there. It was as if the last push doesn't matter once they've been cut. Our table changed hands three times, the last time right before the bill was delivered and without informing us first. Really?? We tipped more than fairly and hope that the gentleman server we ended with, after being dumped by two women, was happy to have us - for three minutes. UGH, it left such a bad taste in my mouth - and after all that beautiful food and drink. Being handed off made our visit more confusing than relaxing.

It's too bad that such beautiful ambiance and world class food is served by entitled people who would rather be somewhere else. If this is not the case - perhaps Lucia herself needs to look a little more closely at who is serving her fine food and make some FINAL cuts.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Uptown / Neighborhood Gathering Spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Trendy and expensive tries to meet casual (but not casual) in the guise of a coffee shop, wine bar, bakery, etc... It sometimes succeeds, all depends on the staff, the clientele, and often the time of day / vibe of the day...

The food is mostly "okay" however a bit expensive and somewhat limited in its choices. The staff can range from polite/sometimes friendly to arrogant or indifferent, it all kind of depends. My own strategy in the warmer months is to make my selection, then grab a table outside, and enjoy the neighborhood and weather and tune out the attitude...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Small, Intimate, and Outstanding Food--a Minneapolis Icon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant has been serving James Beacd worthy ffod for over 25 years. The menu is small and selective, the atmosphere is intimate and conducive to great conversation and the wine list is selective, affordable and interesting. Even when the menu seems a little remote, every dish is wonderful. This is a place not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucia's Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.