We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Cafe

Birchwood Cafe
3311 E 25th St, Minneapolis, MN 55406-1412
612-722-4474
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #61 of 1,552 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Dessert, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I ate here for weekend brunch around 1pm. The seating is somewhat limited, and they were completely full, but the service was very good, and the food was absolutely delicious. We ordered and paid at the counter and then found a spot. I loved the atmosphere and the energy. The savory waffle, turkey sausage, and ham benedict were all creative and delicious. One plate was too much food for me; next time I will split a plate with someone. I can't wait to eat breakfast here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    40
    28
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, United States
1 review
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food was delicious, healthy, and filling. When I eat out, I don't feel bad about going here because I'm feeding my body nourishing food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Vegetarian/Vegan Friendly. Been twice and both times were AMAZING! First time I went they had live jazz music on the patio. Very eco friendly, support local, fresh food kind of place. Everything tastes homemade. Atmosphere both on the patio and inside is great.

Awesome specials throughout the week. Desserts are a must (no matter how full you are from your amazing lunch or dinner).

Easily, the best food I've ever had at a restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Saved the day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Original plan was to grab breakfast with vegan sister at Hard Times. Which was a first for me even after living in S. Minneapolis for years. Upon entering it was just too sketchy and not fun so headed to the always solid Birchwood which saved my day! My sister is still raving about her best breakfast ever in Minneapolis. Thanks guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food & service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We went to Birchwood for our first dinner in Minneapolis. The handpie was excellent & included eggplant, caramelized onions, and a zucchini coulis. The beer (Harriet IPA) was tasty, and the bread pudding was delicious! The staff was also attentive & responsive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birchwood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Birchwood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.