We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spanish/Mediterranean food so far...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solera - CLOSED

Solera
900 Hennepin Avenue, Minneapolis, MN 55403 (Downtown)
(612) 338-0062
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: On Bus Route.
minneapolis,
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Spanish/Mediterranean food so far...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We came here because we are craving for paella. Since it takes a little longer to cook it (we gather from our server), we ordered some tapas - they are actually good - torta, stewed lamb with couscous and the roasted beets. The lamb was our favorite. It was really good. Too bad it was just a tapas version. Wish they had it served too in big portions. We also did not know they serve bread. The bread was really good and the waiter was generous enough to give us quite a bit more while we were waiting for the main dish. The only real entree was the paella. It was good, a little bit oily and overcooked but it was the best paella we had in the Twin Cities...so far.
Their chocolate mousse cake was good too and the churros with the hot cocoa. The only downside was since most of their menu are tapas, it comes a little bit pricey for small portions of food. You end up racking up a huge bill if you want more....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    69
    28
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Maybe we need to try again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We met the owners one time, and thought to try it out. The food is good, and service is OK. The location needs to be cleaned up. Minneapolis has an overall problem with panhandlers in this area. This has gotten better than it was a few years ago.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Beware if your hungry!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It's a beautiful place with excellent service, but I could not find one thing on the menu that tasted good. I am not a picky eater. I have never wrote a review before. We were a table of twelve and tried many dishes. If cold beets with goat cheese sounds yummy to you, it's your place. Maybe some cold butter beans with a tooth pick. I heat them at home. The portions were so small it was laughable. No kidding, it kept us laughing. The pork dish was no bigger than a fifty cent piece on a huge plate. The desert was served with one level tablespoon of ice cream, no kidding. We did order the paella to finish our meal, because I thought my daughter might starve. I figured rice was good. It was very interesting looking, with the prawns staring at us. Taste was nothing special, a little burnt at the bottom. Took to long to clean and peel the prawns that I really didn't need to eat much after flicking the eye balls off my plate. Bill totalled $158 for myself, my 21 year daughter and my 12 year old ( who did not eat).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Tapas Outside of Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

When this restaurant opened Food and Wine magazine ranked it as one of the top ten new restaurants in the World. I thought, "oh come on". I still don't know if it is top ten but it is one of the best places I've been to. The menu is creative and diverse. I haven't had anything bad and the service is outstanding. A fantastic place all around.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solera is my favorite Rooftop spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Rooftop bar is amazing. Tapas are amazing! White Sangria is the most amazing! I keep coming back and love it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solera also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.