We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised by other reviews? What did I miss?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick & Schmick's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McCormick & Schmick's
800 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)
(612) 338-3300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #333 of 1,595 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 9th & Nicollet
Transit: We are 4 blocks from the downtown light rail system.
Description: Unique to Minneapolis, the restaurant has several "snugs" (private booths for six with draperies) in the formal dining room. The handsome interior features handcrafted mahogany, stained glass (depicting Minnesota heritage), brass accents, and Tiffany-style lamps lending a traditional note to the interior. McCormick & Schmick's also features a lively bar experience, with a bar staff that practices traditional mixology -- hand-shaken cocktails using only bottled sodas, freshly squeezed juices and premium liquors.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Surprised by other reviews? What did I miss?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Eat here at least monthly for lunch. Almost always order oysters on the half shell, and the Tuna appetizer... tuna tartare on one side of platter and peppered, seared tuna on the other...seperated by a phenominal cucumber, carot, sesame, nori salad. Wow! And, usually the Iceberg Wedge, with all the trimmings. I've had lots of other dishes, and enjoyed them, but these are my 'go to' picks.
If your're lucky, sit ouyside in warm weather... If so, do order the summer dessert - a heavenly cold lemon souffle!!
Season menu offers lots of variety. Eat in the window lined bar, or the more formal rear dining room... or the outside pation, on the Nicollet Mall. Excellent people-watching.

Happy hour offers many deeply discounted small plates. Nothing our of the ordinary, but good, satisfying and affordable. Dinner is moreexpensive...on par with other steak / seafood places

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    59
    37
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Under new management? New ownership last year and I have been there 6 times in the last year and feel they are not as invested in their happy hour as they used to be. The food is for the most part - good, but not as plentiful and at times I feel they almost throw it at you because it is so inexpensive.
Fish tacos were terrible, they had deep fried breaded fish in the Taco??!! A place known for seafood!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, Ecuador
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Decent business lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Came here between meetings for what I know to be reliably fresh seafood. Sat at bar. Matthew was my bartender/server (had to find out by looking at my tab as he didn't introduce himself or have a name tag). Nice atmoshere, good music piped in.

Service was maybe a C, C+. Server was fairly distracted, including talking to other servers, leaving the bar without notifying he would be gone. Area not bussed as I ate. Empty cup of soup and empty club soda bottle in front of me now. No checking on how food was, or if I would like to consider anything else. Although I think this is more typical with bartenders who are trying to serve rather than professional servers, its still disappointing.

I think this place could be good, but what restauranteers need to remember is that the experience is so heavily reliant on service that even the coolest atmosphere and tastiest food can't out weigh lax service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Happy Hour Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Yes, it's corporate and there are a lot of new and exciting foodie venues in downtown Mpls, but if you're on the mall and don't want to trek to No. Washington Ave, McComick's has a very nice food-centered HH - M-F from 4 to 6. Dear husband and I shared the fire cracker shrimp- truly excellent, nice spice, with sesame and only $5 on HH - also split the mussels (OK but French Meadow and Stella's in Uptown beat theirs hands down. Also shared a true bargain: cheeseburger with french fries basket for $3.95. The M&S "tea" seasonal special drink was a good value for $6, comprised of 4 top shelf liquours-quite tasty. Generous seating in the bar from tables to booths. Now if that new manager would only stop playing that horrendous music, we'd be in there more often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile


Seemed to be your typical, bland American restaurant trying to position itself a bit above the larger franchises.
Fresh oysters were average. Fresh Walleye was perfectly adequate but nothing more.
Server tried hard to impress but was completely clueless about the details of the menu.
The wine list was a bright spot and had some very decent Sauvignon Blancs in particular.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's also viewed

 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormick & Schmick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.