We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Designated date spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick & Schmick's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McCormick & Schmick's
800 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)
(612) 338-3300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #359 of 1,622 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 9th & Nicollet
Transit: We are 4 blocks from the downtown light rail system.
Description: Unique to Minneapolis, the restaurant has several "snugs" (private booths for six with draperies) in the formal dining room. The handsome interior features handcrafted mahogany, stained glass (depicting Minnesota heritage), brass accents, and Tiffany-style lamps lending a traditional note to the interior. McCormick & Schmick's also features a lively bar experience, with a bar staff that practices traditional mixology -- hand-shaken cocktails using only bottled sodas, freshly squeezed juices and premium liquors.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Designated date spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This and Oceanaire are our first choices for downtown Minneapolis dining. It was not that long ago when good seafood only was found at the coasts. We very much enjoy the atmosphere.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    62
    39
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place for tasty greasy diner food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Sent back the first dish because of the grease. I laid a paper napkin on it and it was soaked in seconds. That second dish was little better but still nothing better than a greasy grill joint. The waitress was crabby and seemed bothered by having to be there. Any other reasonable place would have offered something. I talked to the manager and he said everybody has a bad day in response to me stating that I wouldn't be back. The problem is that I paid for their bad day. I will never go back, but the salad was good.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A great lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I had lunch and had great food, Our waiter suggested the bacon wrapped shrimp, that was owesome. Great presentation. My wife had the shrimp linguine which was very good, I had the kobe burger - cooked to perfection. I would recommend this place - our waiter did a great job and kept the refills coming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fancy but casual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had dinner at M&S. Wife had some kind of Wahoo fish with a pretzel crust and she loved it. I had the steak and lobster special (25.00). Steak was a little tough but still good. Our hotel concierge made our reservation and they treated us special. Even put a "VIP" sign on the table.
Highly recommend M&S and have your hotel call in the reservation.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Seafood in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Elegant yet comfortable dining experience. Beautiful decor set up for cozy private curtained booths to rooms for larger parties. The food is fresh and beautifully presented and tastes so wonderful. The friendly staff makes sure you have everything you need for your dining experience. Comfortable bar area that is all windows that look out over Nicollet Mall, during the holiday season you can enjoy the Holidazzel lighted parade from the warm comfort of the lounge area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's also viewed

 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormick & Schmick's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.