We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kafe 421

Kafe 421
421 14th Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (University / Dinkytown)
(612) 623-4900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kafe 421 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #62 of 1,595 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
Cross street: Between 4th & 5th Street
Transit: University of Minnesota area, so bus stops are prevalent
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good lunch place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Kafe 421 is a good choice for lunch and supper. Located in Dinkytown on the U of M campus, it offers good, a little off the beaten path food, good service and great location. Worth trying.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    31
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Swordfish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Amazing swordfish special. The restaurant is very near the University. Well worth the trip from downtown. I would definitely come back next time I am in Minneapolis.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fryeburg ME
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Eclectic fare in Minneapolis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a multi-family, multi-celebration. Excellent fare. We had an appetizer platter. Nice selection with especially good artichochoke dip and crabcakes. Nice entrees, good selection and well done. Our waitress was very attentive, and the owner, Georgia, made certain that all was well. We shall return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wow, what a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I took my mom here for mother's day, thinking we had never been there before. Wrong. They catered an event for us six years ago. They were good then, they're good now. We had the mango salsa as an appetizer. It was probably one of the best things I've ever eaten. The pita was magnificent and the salsa was a strange but fantastic taste. I ordered the petite steak. It was very good, but the Gorgonzola was a bit heavy. My mother ordered the chicken, which she enjoyed very much. Overall, Kafe 421 made mother's day a success.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NJ
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great food and lots of really good vegetables. I thoroughly enjoyed each dish. Monday and Wednesday bottles of wine are half priced, too. I am a vegetarian and my colleague is an omnivore and we were both well fed and happy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kafe 421 also viewed

 

Been to Kafe 421? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kafe 421, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.