We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Bread Co.

Turtle Bread Co.
4756 Chicago Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55407
(612) 823-7555
Update restaurant details
Ranked #270 of 1,551 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Dessert, Pizza
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Everything is delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Turtle Bread many times over the last 4 years or so. I sure wish it had been around when I lived in the neighborhood twenty years ago! Breakfast is served until 2:00, and my favorites are the pancakes, and eggs Benedict. The heartiness of the eggs Benedict is balanced by a side of lightly dressed greens. Some days I crave one of their homemade soups and ill make the drive from Eagan. Corn chowder and tomato basil are always good, and are served with a generous slice of their house made French bread. If you have room, there are plenty of cookies and other pastries and desserts available. I like to buy a loaf of sourdough bread on my way out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    11
    9
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Smells and tastes so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A great lunch in a fun Mpls neighborhood! A wide variety of soups, breads, sandwiches and quiches served in a quick and friendly manner. The croissant I had closely resembled the ones I had in Paris last year. Very friendly staff!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaks Island, Maine
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere and cookies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stop by twice on a recent visit to Minneapolis--once for ginger cookies and once for pie. Can't complain about either, save for the out of season blueberries. That was not their fault and they did an excellent job seasoning them just right to maximize flavor. The cookies were definitely worth a stop. Also loved the atmosphere. It's like sitting in the midst of a busy, working bakery.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome selection (if you get there early!) and great prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

They also carry Gluten free and vegan items as well as using unbleached flour in their breads. It's a take out bakery as well as a place you can sit down to eat. Great looking pies and cakes...we're sort of glad we don't live closer!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Mn
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Summer time visit -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had a sandwich and a soda this summer. Fresh and very tasty. Excellant pie for desert. The service is outstanding and the selection very enjoyable. Heard they are work with the city for resuming outdoor dining. Hope it turns out well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Bread Co. also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Turtle Bread Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Bread Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.