We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food, great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof zur Gemutlichkeit

Gasthof zur Gemutlichkeit
2300 University Ave NE, Minneapolis, MN 55418-3457
612-781-3860
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #127 of 1,622 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Swiss
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
348 reviews 348 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 162 cities Reviews in 162 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

First time here, not the last time. As close to being in Germany as one can get, and the food is delicious and plentiful. We were a party of five and ordered the Schlemmerplatte and the Bayrische Hausplatte. Both are combo platters that have four meats and sides, all on one large platter. They are served family-style. The menu says that one platter is for two people. There is more food than two people can eat here. You start out with a simple platter, then your main dishes are served, and you can finish your meal with schnapps or Black Forest torte, one large piece for two people. The place is set up much like a German bierhaus, longer tables that will accommodate different parties at the same time. Lots of neat decorations, and music as you eat. They play German songs over the speaker system - at a nice volume, not too loud. An accordion player will stroll about and play for you as well. There is a bar downstairs that is open Friday and Saturday nights. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Great German beer selection as well. We left very full and with leftover boxes. Will definitely be here again!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    11
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to go with lots of friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015 credit card Amex Card Member Review

In the north east neighborhood of Minneapolis (typically the hipster area), this place is really fun to go to grab a drink with a large group of friends. They have the typical German Beerhaus type of activities and drinks. Would recommend.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A full experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

True traditional experience from decor to music to food. Wonderful food. We ordered the full page of all the platters to try everything, it was all good! The scallops, fried potatoes and salmon were my favorite. The martinis were great too! The music man played a special song for every person at our table. We sang along and belly laughed. A few traditional shots and a sniff to end a perfect night! Great for a group of friends or a work outing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Back to the roots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We came here for my cousins wedding. This was the first dinner for the entire family getting together from Florida, Ohio, Michigan, Arizona and Minnesota. We have German roots so this food really hit home! It was delicious! And the staff were super friendly and German like. Loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous German Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

We always enjoy one of the family dinners because so much is included. We had pork chop, schnitzel, beef roll, bratwurst and more, accompanied with their fabulous red cabbage, sauerkraut, mashed potatoes and gravy, potato croquettes, spaetzel, salad, dinner rolls, and more! What a feast - everything served piping hot and delicious. Also included was a shot of German Schnapps for each of us. They do fun toasts at your table which really makes for an enjoyable evening in a very lively setting. By the time we left, the place was packed with diners celebrating special occasions and loving the authentic food.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthof zur Gemutlichkeit also viewed

 

Been to Gasthof zur Gemutlichkeit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof zur Gemutlichkeit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.