We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victor's 1959 Cafe

Victor's 1959 Cafe
3756 Grand Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55409-1119
612-827-8948
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Victor's 1959 Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,405 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: West 38th Street
Transit: We are on the corner of West 38th Street and Grand Ave South in Minneapolis. Both streets are major bus lines.
Israel
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Finally got to Victor's after hearing about it so many times from my sister and brother-in-law who live nearby. Had the extremely delicious Ranchero Cubano for breakfast - can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    68
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A taste of Havanna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I found this small "hole in the wall" on line and it sounded wonderful. Authentic Cuban food that was big on taste and quite moderate in price. The Ropa Vieja was amazing, full of flavor (garlic, onions, peppers, sherry and beef), simmered till the meat was tender and delicious. The Lechon Asado, was also good, but was a bit dry. The plantains and yucca were also very good and it was nice to be there for the half priced wen during "happy hour". I would like to go back and try dome of their other dishes that also sounded fantastic. The decor was funky and fun and the service was quick and friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Thank Diners, Drive-ins and Dives for this gem. Doesn't look like much from the outside, would probably drive right past without a second glance if you were uninformed. Not much seating, so plan ahead with reservations, or enjoy a beverage or two while you wait. Our server was excellent, willing to make a couple recommendations for food choices that were outstanding. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Guy Fierra got this one right, Victor's is AWESOME. Service was outstanding, food was wonderful, atmosphere was great!!! Yuca Fritas appetizer was one of, if not the best, preparations of Yuca I have had. Our party tried everything that DDD tried and we loved it all (each item is singled out on the menu). It's a small busy restaurant, so make a reservation. They will honor it. This place will be a go to from now on. Nicely done staff!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We tried out Victor's 1959 Cafe for the first time and absolutely loved it. Waiting in line for brunch was worth it, as the food and service was great. Fun atmosphere, quality food, and friendly service. We can't wait to bring friends and family another time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's 1959 Cafe also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Victor's 1959 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victor's 1959 Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.