We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Ne Plus Ultra" of Sushi in Minneapolis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origami

Origami
30 N 1st St, Ste 1, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1485 (Warehouse District)
612-333-8430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 1,586 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“"Ne Plus Ultra" of Sushi in Minneapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tucked away in a rapidly gentrifying neighborhood near the river, this Japanese restaurant will blow your mind with the freshness of its fish and the delicate flavors of its dishes. The walls of the staircase are lined with awards won by this understated and zen restaurant. The agedashi tofu was silky and tender, and the rolls were bite-sized morsels of sheer delight. The Hamachi Kama (yellowfin cheek) was cooked to perfection, with a lightly charred flavor that enhanced the natural taste of the fish. Our server was also perfectly friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    37
    17
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Japanese restaurant in Minneapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Origami, located in the warehouse district in Minneapolis, is a great find. The fish is fresh and delicious and the menu offers many Japanese specialities that you won't find elsewhere. They also have a happy hour where drinks and small portions of starters like their delicious gyoza and assorted sushi are a steal. Parking is free just across the street and there are a few tables outside for nice weather.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good food, some attitude”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Food was very good and the presence of many asian people, possibly japanese or of japanese origins was a good sign, Waiter was very attentive and food arrived quickly. Waiting staff was very cold, you do not have to be super-friendly but I got the feeling that we were not really welcomed. That is obviously not true, being a restaurant, but this is what the lack of smiling or of friendliness somehow showed

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sushi was TOPS with Authentic Japanese Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The only thing that I didn't like was the lack of time available during this trip to have tried all their dishes. The service was impeccable and polite. The sushi menu was extensive and freshly made. The tuna sushimi was cul thicker than most restaurants and delicious. Of the 2 dishes that I tried with my sushi, the 'eggplant' dish was tops.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Been here twice before and wanted to try a new place but still ended up here since all other competitors' reviews were not encouraging. Anyhow, went again with family. I have to say our waitress was very pleasant
and attentive. Edamame was good. Seafood quality was good as well. Better than any other sushi I have had in the Twin Cities. I would recommend the Summer roll and of course toro (tuna) which I recall comes with a cilantro citrus sauce. Hime roll is also good. Only comment is that the place needs a bit of a facelift. Otherwise, I would say this place deserves to be best sushi in Minneapolis on basis of quality. Oh, vegetable soup was good too!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origami also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Origami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Origami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.