We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tempura I've ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Origami

Origami
30 N 1st St, Ste 1, Minneapolis, MN 55401-1485 (Warehouse District)
612-333-8430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 1,697 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Warehouse District
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tempura I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've had sushi in a fair few places around the world anf there's a street cafe in Sydney that was the benchmark for tempura. Origami has just raised the bar. It's light and perfectly cooked. The octopus and calamari was so tender. Clealry fresh produce and not overcooked.

The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable and the sushi and sashimi I had was after my temprua was equally good.

A not to miss restaurtant if you ever visit Minneapolis.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Macdonald_ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
254 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Origami continues to be the best sushi in Minneapolis. They have a close competitor now that Masu is open, but back to Origami. They always serve fresh and consistantly delicious nigiri/maki. Origami isn't fancy, but it's a good spot. I look forward to the Uptown location. Mpls location has a decent happy hour so look for that. Cool to sit at the sushi bar as well, the chefs suggest good options.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank wuzed111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bottom line: Best Sushi in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

IMHO - Hands down best sushi in minneapolis/St. Paul!! I reccomend letting the sushi chef pick out w/e he feels like making, and you will enjoy it!

It's also neat sitting at the sushi bar and watch them make it.

A minneapolis must if u like sushi!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very fresh tasting fish, great rolls, terrific service. This is my #1 sushi place when here on business. As good as the top tier places in New York.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Best Japonese restaurants and sushis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

What is incredible is the choice of fishes for the sushis and sashimis. We spent the whole night tasting new fishes like high flying tunas pieces urshine or even blowfish! We were seated at the sushi bar which was great as we talked all along with the sushi chief who was passionate about his products. They also have very good typical Japanese starters and entrees, and a large choice of sake and various flight. Everything perfet for a TRUE Japanese food tasting experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yoneuskadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origami also viewed

 

Been to Origami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing