We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Vietnamese restaurant”
Review of Quang Restaurant

2719 Nicollet Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55408
(612) 870-4739
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #31 of 1,552 restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2013
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Delicatessen, Vietnamese
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    67
    52
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Quang Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Authentic Vietnamese restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I would rate the restaurant a 3.5, but that isn't allowed in the rating criteria above.

A friend from Hong Kong recommended this restaurant and Pho 79. I have now tried them both. This restaurant seems larger than Pho 79 with a large open room. it was very busy when we arrived at about 6pm on a Wednesday night. Our waiter spoke English, but was very hard to understand given his accent. We shared some spring rolls, which were good. I ordered the Com Ga Xao which was carmelized lemon grass chicken with broken rice. The food was good, but the quantity was quite small. It was enough food, but I would expect that I would be service enough so that I had a decent size quantity to take home once I am finished eating. The decor isn't upgraded or modern, but that's not expected with this style of restaurant.
I did get a spot in the parking lot, but it was very full. I managed to get a spot as someone was exiting. One thing to watch out for- is there doesn't seem to be capability to move between sections of the parking lot- so if I hadn't gotten the particular spot that opened up, I'd need to back out into the sometimes busy Nicollet street to try to get into the next "row" in the parking lot.

I would go back and try it again, and order a different dish- perhaps some Pho.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, MN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trust me...try this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have been here several times, and although the service isn't the friendliest, and they are rushing around, it is still some of the best food! There Egg Roll Salad is amazing! I prefer the vegetarian over the beef just because of the flavors, but everything I have had here is always top notch! Seriously...get in your car and just go!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I don't know what the folks with negative feedback are talking about--- This place is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It's always a good sign when you go into an ethnic restaurant and the majority of the clientele are of that culture.
My wife took me here after she had been here with her girlfriends.
It was about 2PM and the place was hoppin'. I had the beef and egg roll Vietnamese salad and my wife had one with shrimp and something else ( I was so into mine that I'm not exactly sure ). The egg rolls were some of the best I've bet had and the beef ---mmmmm!!!!! The dressing on the salad was like no other.
Service was prompt and the food was fantastic. And the prices were out of this world.
We will definitely be back.
So don't listen to the few bad reviews --- some people are just negative about everything.

Going to try the Pho next time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sea bass soup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Everybody keeps talking about the Pho? Noooooo, Sea bass soup on the weekends is the speciality. Keep it comin all day!
The deep fried egg rolls (in Canada we call them spring rolls). Woo-hoo, hells yeah!
Bahn mi? Yes please.
I crave this in my sleep. And I visit everytime I am in the area, sometimes twice in a weekend. I'm not ashamed :)....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delicious Pho”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This restaurant came recommended by a local and if you like Vietnamese food, you won't be disappointed. I had the Pad Thai which was nice and not too huge. They were running low on several fish dishes that sounded good but we were there late. Not too expensive and the food makes this a great choice.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quang Restaurant also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Quang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.