We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for generally huge portions and charges for sharing plates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ike's Food and Cocktails

Ike's Food and Cocktails
50 S 6th St, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1540
612-746-4537
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 1,586 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Nicolette Mall
Transit: Ike's is bracketed by two stations; Warehouse Dist/Henn Avenue Station (3 Blocks away) & the Nic Mall Station (1 Block away). Take Nic mall station, go south(away from the river if that helps) one block to 6th, take a right and we are down the block on the right side. Transit web site: http://metrotransit.org/rail/index.asp
Description: You’d swear this place has been around since the '40s. A bar commands the narrow room flanked by booths and tables. Servers in coats, bartenders in jackets yet with a casual air that screams welcome. American classics; juicy hand-formed burgers. Lunchtime, a carver chef slices fresh roast beef and roast turkey for sandwiches. Small plates span America’s history; supper club shrimp cocktail up-to-the-minute items as tuna tataki, fresh guacamole prepared table side, fresh spring rolls stuffed with rice noodles, shrimp and holy basil. “Big Plates”; Fillet Oscar, homemade meat loaf, pork prime rib, house smoked ribs, all can include soup, salad, bread and a basket of plastic-wrapped crackers, just like in the old days. Ike's has a serious bar, strong drinks, vintage cocktails and ice cream drinks a good selection of beers and wines by the glass. Ike's is one of downtown's favorite; retro booths, antique wood bar, with a supper-club feel.
USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Watch out for generally huge portions and charges for sharing plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed an early dinner, but found the calamari appetizer to skip, lots of french fries (more than we could eat, servings appropriately sized for two people in general, but a surcharge on sharing dinners needs to be disclosed more clearly in advance. We notified them that we'd be eating family style and sharing, but were not warned about extras charges. Nonetheless, this was a great experience and hit the spot before Bball game and later entertainment. Just watch out for generally huge portions and charges for sharing plates, and you'll be good to go.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    78
    27
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding for an airport restaurant......here's why:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

* Friendly, fast service. They asked when our flight was and made sure to tell us what would be the quicker foods on the menu
* Comfortable. Nice enough interior, but I like that it was easy to hang up coats, and there was a special little cubby hole by the booth where we could stow our luggage
* What you read about it was you get. Everything on the menu we ordered came out exactly as promised.
* Guacamole was fantastic, was a HUGE portion and was mixed fresh for us at the table.
* Great chocolate milk shake.
* Really hot, crispy fries that actually taste like potatoes, not just hot and salty.
* Tasty burgers and sandwiches. Seasoned well and cook right. Juicy and tender.
* Value. It's not cheap but the food is excellent and they give you a ton. I mean practically 2,000 lbs of food (i.e. a ton), and yet they also have a smaller bites menu, sort of a tapas thing, in case you just don't want to eat that much.
* Surprisingly wide variety for airport restaurant serving 'American classics'

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We went here with some friends for brunch, it was our first time there. Really nice options, big bloody's, eggs made to order and family style to your table. It was a really enjoyable experience. The cinnamon roll is huge, be hungry!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Bloody Mary with a serious kick!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stopped here for a pre-dinner drink. The fantastic bartender told me they were known for making a seriously good bloody mary from scratch (no pre-made mixes used). I've never had a bloody mary at night but was intrigued so went for it. Best. Decision. Ever. It was incredibly tasty and SO spicy. My husband liked the selection of beer on tap and we both loved seeing the burgers being prepared right at the end of the bar. Next time we'll try the food as it all looked and smelled amazing!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for cocktails and old style cocktail lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Ike's is a great dinner or happy hour in Downtown Minneapolis. Check out the Twin Charlies. They are great. "Real" shakes made with high quality and fresh ingredients. Order a bunch of small plates and share them at the table. They offer a delicious variety.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ike's Food and Cocktails also viewed

 

Been to Ike's Food and Cocktails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ike's Food and Cocktails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.