We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner and service in Minneapolis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Alma

Restaurant Alma
528 University Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (University / Dinkytown)
(612) 379-4909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Alma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 1,598 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
Cross street: 6th Avenue SE
Transit: #6 Metro Transit Bus
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best dinner and service in Minneapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a great place. Wonderful, thoughtful food on a 3-course tasting menu with three choices for each course ($50). There were four of us and we all ordered different things -- everything was delicious and cooked to perfection. Our server had just the right mix of friendliness and professionalism, and her recommendations were spot-on.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    34
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lovely meal with local ingredients in mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I went with a dear friend of mine and it was a wonderful meal. The server was knowledgable and friendly. We both truly enjoyed the meal we had and left full. Now, I know another reviewer said they were hungry and I could see someone with a larger appetite might not get enough to eat. You can also order a la carte. I had the glazed pork belly, quail and crispy trout. I was too full for dessert, unfortunately. It also has a nice wine list - I'm always happy when I can find some Washington State wines on a wine list. We had a table by the window and I really enjoyed our view of the neighborhood and passersby. Overall, the food was excellent and the atmosphere was casual and nice. It's upscale but not fancy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Adjust your Expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This restarant is great if you are a foodie and you aren't hungry. Restaurant Alma boasts a tasting menu, however the portions are really small so it won't fill you up by any means. If you come with that expectation, you shouldn't be dissapointed. After reading the reviews I was expecting to really be blown away, but the food wasn't that unique to me. it was good, but I've had similiar food else where. I would give the food itself a high 3 to a low 4. They get points for offering fantastic vegetarian options. It was the service that ruined it for me. My husband and I came in high spirits, celebrating our 5th anniversary, however, but the end of the evening, I was so uncomortable I just wanted to leave. The waitress was very short with us, and made us feel like a burden. We had better service at the Dairy Queen we visted afterword.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“As Good As You've Heard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It's difficult to adequately convey how good this restaurant is. Simply stated, Restaurant Alma knows how to do everything well. The food was superb, the wait staff was professional and friendly, the location (not far from the University of Minnesota) is easy to reach, and the restaurant ambience is everything you look for in a quality restaurant. It is not inexpensive, but this is the kind of restaurant experience you savor for a long time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“eat dessert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

this really was as wonderful a place as we were led to believe. Service done with enough talk but not too much, timely, had the three course tasting menu which had enough variety for all of us to try a lot of things. I had hake, a pretty uncontroversial fish, in a sauce that was remarkably flavorful and fennel is one of the great flavors and it complemented the fish and the crunch of breadcrumbs was really unexpected. The rice grits were softer than any grits I was used to and most would question calling them grits - more like a porridge - but the flavors, again, worked well. We got a "flight" of desserts and a spoon of each left us all happy. Congratulations. Nice simple decor and the noise level was very tolerable. We'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Alma also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.