We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Alma

Restaurant Alma
528 University Ave SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414 (University / Dinkytown)
(612) 379-4909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant Alma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,606 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bagels
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: University / Dinkytown
Cross street: 6th Avenue SE
Transit: #6 Metro Transit Bus
Minnesota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Restaurant Alma is one of my favorite spots in Minneapolis for a date night or dinner with special friends. I love their three course tasting menu and find the proportions to be the perfect size to share tastes and still be satisfied at the end of the meal. I took two friends a few weeks ago as a "thank you" present and we were all thrilled with our selections. The menu changes frequently, but on our visit we voted the bitter greens the best of our first course. Mole braised rabbit and the Roasted prawns tied for best second course. We couldn't decide on the third course - all of us loved the hake, beef and duck. Couldn't end the meal without sharing the lemon tart for dessert. The perfect ending to a wonderful meal. I love the ambiance and the low noise level in this restaurant and find their servers to be attentive, informed and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    36
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Simply a great restaurant...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We've returned to Restaurant Alma several times - for special occasions (Nicole insists for her birthdays), events (e.g., U2 concert at TCF Stadium), or simply spur of the moment. It remains one of our favorites in the Twin Cities.

The Place: Alma is situated within an historic / preserved building - not too far from the university, in an area that has a young, vibrant feel and a mix of residential and business. Once inside, you'll find it has a warm feel, with nice small tables along street side windows, and a long bar. The atmosphere inside is a great casual fine dining vibe (like many, our preferred) - with a warm ambiance, and friendly relaxed feel - the opposite of stuffy or fussy - and a focus simply on serving great food.

The Seating: Smaller place (not excessively so) - we prefer the seats along the windows at the front of the restaurant, including the little table sitting by itself by the door to the balcony or tables in back - great view of street and people. To us, it feels like tables in back are hidden off in the dark; and, the balcony just feels isolated from the restaurant. Just our $0.02.

The Food: The food is seasonal, changes every few weeks, features many locally sourced and organic items, and is without exception excellent. Alma offers a tasting menu, including wine pairings - and we enjoyed this tremendously on a couple visits. But, if you prefer a la carte - the menu is one of the cleanest, best organized you'll find, with a few choices for each of three courses. To date, every dish we have ordered (whether tasting menu or a la carte) has been outstanding. Deserts are also very good.

The Staff: Younger, knowledgeable, relaxed, friendly. Thumbs up.

In short, a great restaurant, with focus squarely on serving exceptional food, and a very nice, warm casual fine dining feel. Very recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tasting Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a great experience at Alma. The service was great, and the food was outstanding. Great flavors, and well thought out dishes. Everything went so well together, and we loved what we ordered. Perfectly cooked fish, great sauces (and not overwhelming), and fresh seasonal ingredients. We also went right after our wedding and they played the song my wife walked down to isle to. Cool spot, great food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We visited Restaurant Alma for our anniversary. We decided on the tasting menu with the wine pairing. Every bite was perfect. It is not an inexpensive meal, but very worth the splurge for a special occasion. We have wanted to go back and just order an entree of the menu. Which is a more inexpensive option. The service was outstanding.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great date night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Restaurant Alma has a wonderful, interesting menu. Excellent food with a good variety, great service, good atmosphere. The food is good for those who want to try something new, but still has something to offer for those who are less adventurous. Loved it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Alma also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Alma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Alma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.