We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for food, people watching and great drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zelo

Zelo
831 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2506
612-333-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,578 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 9th
Description: Zelo celebrates fresh food, with influences from Italy and the Mediterranean to Asia and beyond. This downtown Minneapolis institution sets for itself high standards, and compliments its menu with exceptional hospitality and a one-of-a-kind atmosphere. Using fresh food from local sources and original recipes made from scratch, Zelo is inspired by the food - making it authentic and approachable, feeding customers' increasing desire to experience, learn and discover.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great spot for food, people watching and great drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We wandered by the crowded places on Nicollet to find a treasure just a block away. A bit quieter still lots of character and interesting food. Grapefruit gimlet, a new taste was light and refreshing. Whole grain salad was amazing, light dressing and flavor galore. Hazelnut and plum cheesecake a delightful mix of flavors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    186
    145
    24
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williams Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Menu selections was poor.

I had a linguini de mare, $24, said it had "tiger shrimp". Dish arrived and they were the tinniest shrimp I have ever seen. Looked and tasted like frozen shrimp from the supermarket. Overall flavor was bad.

My wife had "Pablo's homemade lasagna". Could not even finish it the taste was so bad.

Bruschetta was disappointing as well.

Would not recommend

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Professional staff, fun atmosphere, all around classy good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I had come as party of a small bachelorette party for a nice dinner out. Our table easily accommodated our group. We ordered a variety of cocktails- each one was unique and so delicious. I had the mushroom linguine for my entree and was very pleased, but even more so with tiramisu for dessert! Wow! Staff was professional and helpful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Visiting Minneapolis on a family holiday and finding ourselves in Nicollet Mall we chanced upon this delightful restaurant. Stunningly designed interior (originally for an upmarket fur shop), the lighting is low and this maintains the atmosphere. The staff were very child friendly, knowledgeable about the food and attentive. The food was more than a cut above and presented in just the right quantity. We were all impressed with the food - my (made on the premises) pasta and seafood was delicious. I don't expect you to be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, MA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We're visiting from the Boston area and stopped at Zelo's based upon reviews and had a fantastic dinner. Wonderful ambiance and fantastic food. I had one of the best lasagnas that I've ever had and my fiance had a wonderful risotto. Our server, Shawnah, was absolutely fantastic and provided us with a bunch of other restaurants/bars to visit. We're actually planning on heading back there again based upon our experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelo also viewed

 

Been to Zelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.