We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zelo

Zelo
831 Nicollet Mall, Minneapolis, MN 55402-2506
612-333-7000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,585 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 9th
Description: Zelo celebrates fresh food, with influences from Italy and the Mediterranean to Asia and beyond. This downtown Minneapolis institution sets for itself high standards, and compliments its menu with exceptional hospitality and a one-of-a-kind atmosphere. Using fresh food from local sources and original recipes made from scratch, Zelo is inspired by the food - making it authentic and approachable, feeding customers' increasing desire to experience, learn and discover.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I have eaten many times at Zelo. Always very good food and excellent service. Try the tomato basil soup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    197
    150
    24
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Food good but waitress too pushy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good food with a home-cooked feel to it.
No atmosphere at the weekend as it's located in the centre of Downtown, but a great buzz early evenings on weekdays.
Waitress was just too "in your face" over-familiar and falsely enthusiastic. Offputting.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“dessert and coffee after a show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

loved the dessert menu, super loved the trio and the gelato... WOW.. you will find something to indulge in... Coffee was spot on and a classic atmosphere for a conversation with your mate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“I expected much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I liked the restaurant but I did not like the service. The food was average.
Why I did not like the service? I ordered a glass of white wine as I planned to eat one of the fish they have on the menu. The server told me that they had finished the wine I ordered and he recommend a similar one. he brought me a glass or red wine. The only thing the 2 wines had in common was that they were both from Argentina.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Spent a romantic weekend away with my wife and had dinner at Zelo. The food was amazing. I got the Sea Bass and my wife got the ravioli. They had a great wine list, but my wife and I had some local beer on tap. The food was expensive but everything else was perfect. Great night and just walking distance from the Westin where we stayed.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zelo also viewed

 

Been to Zelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.