We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid steak house, good happy hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
920 2nd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55402 (Downtown)
(612) 672-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 1,599 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House in Minneapolis, MN serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.
Boonton, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Solid steak house, good happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

RC's is in the lobby of my office building. We stop in frequently for happy hour with very good snacks & drinks. Occasionally in for dinner on business as well. Very solid steaks and fish. All the sides are great. Very good service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RuthsChrisMpls, General Manager at Ruth's Chris Steak House, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for the great comments! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    33
    18
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“This is not fine dining”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had been looking forward to eating here with a gift card I received for doing a great job at work. So we packed up our older teens and headed downtown to Minneapolis for what we thought was going to be a night of fine dining. But we were not very happy with how things turned out.

First of all, the Vikings were playing the Packers. What relevance does this have to a restaurant review you may ask? In almost every case the answer should be none. Yet this seemed to play front and center to the entire night's experience. Ruth's Chris has a bar attached to the "fine dining" section. And this pretty much proved to ruin any thoughts of having a really nice night out. Every score, every good play, and every bad call caused loud cheers, yelling, or groans and grunts from the bar area. Each time the Vikings scored several of the men at other tables would immediately sprint from their seat to run into the bar. Honestly if I wanted to watch the game I would have gone to a bar. I thought I was going to a fine dining establishment.

The steaks we ordered were very good. Not outstanding but they were good. And my son ordered shrimp which he really liked. But the lobster bisque soup I ordered was not very good. And the asparagus came with some sort of sauce they called hollandaise. It was cold, bitter, and not something you could stomach. So this place seems to only have the steak down to a science.

The service was attentive - that is when they weren't watching the game. The entire wait staff was congregated in or near the bar most of the time we were there. When they came back to the table they were very friendly and professional. But to see the entire wait staff in an establishment like this just watching tv and ignoring the tables was something I'd call unacceptable. You had to wait until they broke away from watching the game if you had something you needed.

I wouldn't return here. For the price you pay it falls far below expectations. And frankly the food just isn't worth it, nor is the atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great food good service, always friendly and never feel like you are being shoved out for a celeb and by the way there are celebs here all the time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best happy Hour in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

With friends we trudged through the fresh 16 inches of snow to Happy Hour here. It was worth every step on the well-cleared Minneapolis sidewalks. The offerings (lobster / steak/ tuna) were substantial enough to be worthy of the $7 tag. Drinks were excellent. The staff was attentive without being intrusive and the ambiance was classy casual with little noise. We plan to return often. This will be "our place".

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good Steaks, Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The steaks are pretty good here. This chain is nice since it is consistently good food at any location you go to. The Minneapolis location is located away from many of the other restaurants but this will make parking a little easier. The happy hour menu at the bar is pretty good too.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.