We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matt's Bar

Matt's Bar
3500 Cedar Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55407-2339
612-729-9936
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #136 of 1,622 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
North Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I love to eat here. The burgers are very good in the fries taste just like McDonalds. I think they have something going right if their fries taste just like McDonalds. There's a reason why are they are rated one of the top places to eat a burger in the Twin Cities. The burgers tasted great when I ate there. the only reason I'm rating this restaurant a 4 is because they don't have ice in the water I just find that to be bad customer service. Besides that it's a great place to eat and I definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    103
    42
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stopped here due to my husband thinking it looked great on Man vs. Food. We had a Juicy Lucy, hamburger, chicken sandwich, and fries. Everything had really good flavor but the boys complained the burgers were small. The chicken was surprisingly wonderful. Very small bar with a very small wonderful menu - what they make is great!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It is no surprise I wanted to try Matt's Bar because of Man vs. Food and it did not disappoint. The Jucy Lucy was not disappointing and the staff was very friendly to us. I would definitely recommend this place to someone who wants a good burger. The place is kind of a dive and you can't expect much except great food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsdale, Minnesota
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The Best Juicy Lucy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This by far is the best Juicy Lucy in the twin cities. We always get hot food and the burgers are awesome. You may have to wait but it's worth it. The staff always work hard. We even bring burgers home for the next day.
Keep up the good work and we'll be back soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“not overly impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were in town without a car but our search for a Jucy led us to check out the bus system. We found it clean and easy to use to get around and with a mobile ap it was EASY. So we headed out to Matt's. It's very unassuming in the middle of a neighborhood. Classic dive bar ambiance inside (which I liked). Good service. Good and plentiful fries. Decedent prices, especially on beer. But the burgers, well, I hate to say this, but they really reminded me of a McDonald's hamburger. Both my husband and I felt this way. McDonalds with a batter quality meat but not too special. Glad we made the trek (albeit easy) to say we did it and not be left wondering but overall it was a disappointment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matt's Bar also viewed

 

Been to Matt's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matt's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.