We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Pasta!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broders' Southside Pasta Bar

Broders' Southside Pasta Bar
5000 Penn Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55419-1035
612-925-9202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,585 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fresh Pasta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband spent 3 years living in Italy and had just about given up hope of finding relatively authentic Italian food in the cities. Then we visited Broders. They have figured out how to adapt Italian classics to match midwestern preferences (we like way more sauce here, so Broders serves more sauce on their dishes than what he got on dishes in Italy) while maintaining the commitment to fresh pasta and fresh ingredients that makes real Italian food so delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    112
    42
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Real italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great little pasta joint. No canned sauce here. Terrific service, nice wine selection and a simple delicious menu

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best pasta dining in or take out in Minneapolis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Broder's has won plenty of awards for being so good, but awards aside, it really is the best pasta I've had in the Twin Cities... over and over again. Having said that, this Italian hot spot is all about pasta. The menu includes antipasti, salads and deserts as well, but the main plates are all either more traditional pastas, fresh pastas made in house rissoto and some smaller pizzas. The menu has some seasonal change to it and is available for take out as well (though some pastas tend to do best when eaten right away). For additional Italian eats and dry shop goods, you have to visit Broder's Italian Cucina across the street. As the weather warms up, the outdoor winebar and grill opens up and has a different menu with more grilled selections and less pasta. You can't order from the grill menu when you are eating inside.
Inside, the space is cozy an centered around a central wine bar. Dinner seating occurs at the bar as well as the small tables surrounding it. There is limited waiting space so many people utilize the "call ahead" seating option...though there are no true reservations. The staff is superb, the wine is good and the quality of the chef and his creations are fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“My wife’s favorite restaurant in the Twin Cities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I like their food, but they tend to use cream in many of their freshly prepared dishes than my palate prefers. Talk to your wait person and discuss the food you are going to eat. One of the waiters has been there every time I have dined here, so I asked him how long he has been there and he said 18.5 years. We had an appetizer with arugula and tomato jam which was incredible. I had a dish with pears, fresh pasta and beef tips and it was very good. We sat at the bar and were able to hear a 1st date which was kind of interesting. It is a very, very cozy environment, so if you have phobias about being close to others, this isn’t your place. Winter waiting tip: when entering, go left of the entrance as the cold wind tends to blow in towards the right side where the bathrooms are. The half bottle of wine was perfect for us and based on the pricing, it is a good way not to commit to any particular bottle of wine. We will be back and talked to a few people on our 45 minute wait and they were exploring restaurants as well. If you don’t want to wait, come in the summer as they have outdoor seating and then work off the dinner with a nice stroll around Lake Harriet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“delicious pasta, great neighborhood feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went here with a friend for dinner - we sat at the pasta bar. It was awesome! Great atmosphere, cheery, warm, and friendly. Definitely was a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere. The server was very knowledgeable and had great recommendations. Did not feel pressure to make decisions on ordering right away. She let us take our time ordering a few appetizers and then when we wanted, we placed our orders.We had the buffalo mozzarelle and a couple crostinis for antipasti. I had the #3 fettucini con cinghaie. It was amazing! Portions were good-sized, but not so huge that I felt stuffed afterwards, and not too little that I was still hungry. We also had the tiramisu for dessert. Mmmm soooo good!

I can't wait to come back and try all the different pastas!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broders' Southside Pasta Bar also viewed

 

Been to Broders' Southside Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broders' Southside Pasta Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.