We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Staff Never Leaves. What Does That Tell You?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broders' Southside Pasta Bar

Broders' Southside Pasta Bar
5000 Penn Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55419-1035
612-925-9202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,587 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
minneapolis
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The Staff Never Leaves. What Does That Tell You?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Broders is ah-mazing. It defines local, neighborhood restaurant. We no longer live in this neighborhood (boohoo), but we still destine ourselves in these woods to grab take out. The wait is long and the atmosphere is worth it--like the title says.. the staff never leave. Same faces for more than 10 years. Great place to work is a great place to eat. If the wait is too unbearable.. order take out. You'll be out of there in less than 10-15 minutes.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    42
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“truly a special place - wish Broder's was in my neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was in Edina for work, but Broder's feels like home. Every neighborhood would be fortunate to have a place like this. Great mix of families, friends and business associates enjoying home-made pasta with a smile on every face.

I'm still thinking about the pappardelle with eggplant and goat cheese a month later.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Favorites Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We love this place - the food is always amazing. Me and BF try and make it here a couple times a year and it's one of the best places to go for a special evening. During the summer you can sit on the patio which is really cute and romantic. They don't take reservations but you can call ahead which I would advise since this place is almost always busy. Just be ready to get a nice glass of wine and wait it out - it'll be worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Broders is one of my favorite restaurants in the Twin Cities. It is a tiny restaurant that has a truly Italian feel. The wait can be a bit long if you go during peak times. However, they have a patio that is used exclusively for happy hour or people waiting for a table for dinner. When it is nice outside, the patio is an awesome place to sit and have a drink while you are waiting for a table. The menu at Broders changes frequently and always has fantastic options. I have never been disappointed!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Drive across town to eat at Broder's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband brought me to Broder's for my birthday and invited our grown daughters and their significant others. The six of us were seated fairly quickly. We called ahead. (Calling ahead does not reserve a table but gets you a priority onceyou have arrived at the restaurant.) The food was fantastic as usual and our service was perfect. You do get a free dessert on your birthday complete with a lit candle. I love italian food but my husband is not a big fan. He is a fan of Broder's though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broders' Southside Pasta Bar also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Broders' Southside Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broders' Southside Pasta Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.