We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
801 Hennepin Ave, LaSalle Plaza, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1818 (Downtown)
612-692-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,579 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
Penn Laird, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Business dinner with 8 others. Steak was cooked just as we like it and service exceeded our expectations. We definately will come back to this restaurant when back to Minneapolis.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    151
    47
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lanex
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“First time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Great dinner and service. Did not know there where a number of these. Will be on the outlook during travels

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Sueur
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A little taste of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my second time at Capital Grille, the first time was Restaurant Week, both times I was extremely pleased with the service, staff and food. The staff is attentive & friendly, our water glasses were never empty, the staff knew the menu and was answer all of our questions. This time both my daughter and myself had the $18 lunch special...which was mouth watering. I rarely eat steak in a restaurant, but this was tender and cooked exactly how I had asked. The lunch special was large enough to take home, they even boxed our leftover bread. Did I mention that they bring warm rolls and flat bread to the table? It is a little on the spendy side, but I find the lunch menu to be reasonable.
The atmosphere is warm and classic. I can't wait to go back, it was one of the best meals I have ever had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance and drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this classic steak house restaurant. With a dark ambiance, good noise, prompt service, well concocted drinks and most of all wonderful steak, I was extremely pleased with my dining experience here (and it was a monday!). Despite prior comments, I really enjoyed the Kona-crusted steak. I thought the flavours worked well together. That said, there are plenty of traditional, non-rubbed steaks to chose from. My dining partners enjoyed the filet mignon (which was as-is). For a chain steak house, I was well pleased and thus would strongly recommend this spot for those seeking a steak house in central downtown Minneapolis.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Taste killer....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Why to make complicate and mix product that don't match ? Just to be "in" and sell them $40+ ??
I have been really disappointed trying to eat there. I choose the "Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin with Shallot Butter" and expected to have tender meat that you don't need a knife to cut... What i get was far from this, a piece of meat coated with crunchy kind of unknown spices. Tasteless meat that if it wasn't red I will have though I was eating a pork chop... Shallot butter was weird and so intense that it killed the rescaped meat taste....
A fact: I won't go back....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.