We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
801 Hennepin Ave, LaSalle Plaza, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1818 (Downtown)
612-692-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,606 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $60 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
Penn Laird, Virginia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Business dinner with 8 others. Steak was cooked just as we like it and service exceeded our expectations. We definately will come back to this restaurant when back to Minneapolis.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    52
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lanex
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“First time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Great dinner and service. Did not know there where a number of these. Will be on the outlook during travels

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Sueur
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A little taste of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my second time at Capital Grille, the first time was Restaurant Week, both times I was extremely pleased with the service, staff and food. The staff is attentive & friendly, our water glasses were never empty, the staff knew the menu and was answer all of our questions. This time both my daughter and myself had the $18 lunch special...which was mouth watering. I rarely eat steak in a restaurant, but this was tender and cooked exactly how I had asked. The lunch special was large enough to take home, they even boxed our leftover bread. Did I mention that they bring warm rolls and flat bread to the table? It is a little on the spendy side, but I find the lunch menu to be reasonable.
The atmosphere is warm and classic. I can't wait to go back, it was one of the best meals I have ever had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“Great food, ambiance and drinks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this classic steak house restaurant. With a dark ambiance, good noise, prompt service, well concocted drinks and most of all wonderful steak, I was extremely pleased with my dining experience here (and it was a monday!). Despite prior comments, I really enjoyed the Kona-crusted steak. I thought the flavours worked well together. That said, there are plenty of traditional, non-rubbed steaks to chose from. My dining partners enjoyed the filet mignon (which was as-is). For a chain steak house, I was well pleased and thus would strongly recommend this spot for those seeking a steak house in central downtown Minneapolis.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Taste killer....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Why to make complicate and mix product that don't match ? Just to be "in" and sell them $40+ ??
I have been really disappointed trying to eat there. I choose the "Bone-In Kona Crusted Dry Aged Sirloin with Shallot Butter" and expected to have tender meat that you don't need a knife to cut... What i get was far from this, a piece of meat coated with crunchy kind of unknown spices. Tasteless meat that if it wasn't red I will have though I was eating a pork chop... Shallot butter was weird and so intense that it killed the rescaped meat taste....
A fact: I won't go back....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.