We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melt in your mouth steak and lobster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
801 Hennepin Ave, LaSalle Plaza, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1818 (Downtown)
612-692-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 1,422 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
Pound, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth steak and lobster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was a joy to be able to walk one block from the Marriott Residence Inn to the Capital Grille at the end of a long day. We arrived at 7:00 on a Monday night without a reservation and were seated right away. The host took our coats and hung them up for us. The dark wood decor was warm and inviting. They have earned their reputation for stellar service and food. Our party had steak, lobster and cedar planked salmon all of which earned rave reviews from our party. The perfectly seasoned steak was so tender we didn't need the provided steak knives. The sides to share are very generous, large enough for four people. The dessert menu looked very tempting, but we were too full to sample any. Maybe next time. The meal was worth the price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    68
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went for Valentine's dinner Sunday during a long weekend visit to Minneapolis. We arrived after the theater crowd had left so it was very quiet. Beautiful room, excellent service and the food was perfectly prepared. It may be a bit expensive but it's definitely a case of getting what you pay for. Definitely worth the splurge for a special occasion.
We reserved on Open Table and it was seamless.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Great service for a solo diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just got done with dinner at Capital Grille. So enjoyable. I've eaten at the downtown Chicago location numerous times and always found it to be wonderful. Here I am, on a business trip in Minneapolis, needing to dine alone. Where to go? After a lengthy search, I realize there is a CG only three blocks from my hotel. I had one of the best servers ever - Nicole - who was an absolute joy on a frigid night. She was so cheerful, knowledgeable, and mindful of me wanting to enjoy my wine with my book :) Highly recommend to anyone - food is outstanding, service is impeccable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“top flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

here or business dinner, calimari appitizer always great, the bone in fillet, great flavor, desert outstanding, service prompt. Always a solid pick for a business dinner, never disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
150 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Prices are steep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ok experience Be prepared to shell out some major $$$ to eat here. Food is good, but not sure worth the extravagant pricing. For a special evening, it would be a good choice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.