We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Service and Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
801 Hennepin Ave, LaSalle Plaza, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1818 (Downtown)
612-692-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,585 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $60 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went for Valentine's dinner Sunday during a long weekend visit to Minneapolis. We arrived after the theater crowd had left so it was very quiet. Beautiful room, excellent service and the food was perfectly prepared. It may be a bit expensive but it's definitely a case of getting what you pay for. Definitely worth the splurge for a special occasion.
We reserved on Open Table and it was seamless.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    155
    47
    12
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
“Great service for a solo diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just got done with dinner at Capital Grille. So enjoyable. I've eaten at the downtown Chicago location numerous times and always found it to be wonderful. Here I am, on a business trip in Minneapolis, needing to dine alone. Where to go? After a lengthy search, I realize there is a CG only three blocks from my hotel. I had one of the best servers ever - Nicole - who was an absolute joy on a frigid night. She was so cheerful, knowledgeable, and mindful of me wanting to enjoy my wine with my book :) Highly recommend to anyone - food is outstanding, service is impeccable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“top flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

here or business dinner, calimari appitizer always great, the bone in fillet, great flavor, desert outstanding, service prompt. Always a solid pick for a business dinner, never disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Prices are steep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ok experience Be prepared to shell out some major $$$ to eat here. Food is good, but not sure worth the extravagant pricing. For a special evening, it would be a good choice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm so glad that the Capital Grille participates in this event. The menu and service are outstanding as usual for less than half the normal price. So please remember to tip based on what you would normally spend there on a meal. The staff here are all super!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.