We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service for a solo diner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
801 Hennepin Ave, LaSalle Plaza, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1818 (Downtown)
612-692-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 1,698 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great service for a solo diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just got done with dinner at Capital Grille. So enjoyable. I've eaten at the downtown Chicago location numerous times and always found it to be wonderful. Here I am, on a business trip in Minneapolis, needing to dine alone. Where to go? After a lengthy search, I realize there is a CG only three blocks from my hotel. I had one of the best servers ever - Nicole - who was an absolute joy on a frigid night. She was so cheerful, knowledgeable, and mindful of me wanting to enjoy my wine with my book :) Highly recommend to anyone - food is outstanding, service is impeccable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“top flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

here or business dinner, calimari appitizer always great, the bone in fillet, great flavor, desert outstanding, service prompt. Always a solid pick for a business dinner, never disappointed

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank winelover9154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisholm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
184 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Prices are steep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Ok experience Be prepared to shell out some major $$$ to eat here. Food is good, but not sure worth the extravagant pricing. For a special evening, it would be a good choice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcdonapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Restaurant Week Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm so glad that the Capital Grille participates in this event. The menu and service are outstanding as usual for less than half the normal price. So please remember to tip based on what you would normally spend there on a meal. The staff here are all super!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
107 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm not a huge steakhouse fan, but restaurant week in Mpls and Capital Grill had a great offer. After seeing their posted, menu, I grabbed the one time slot they had left: a 5:15 reservation on a Monday night. Dear husband and I didn't eat lunch, so we were very much ready for the clam chowder, Caesar salad, 14 oz. dry rub Wagu beef sirloin, excellent bread, chocolate torte and creme caramel. Service is over-the-top superb without being snobbish. I've never been asked if I wanted regular olives or bleu cheese stuffed olives with my martini! Everything was perfectly cooked and my husband's soup piping hot. Lovely, quiet atmosphere even the the house was full.

Nice touch ladies: if they see you wearing black, they ask if you'd prefer a black linen napkin vs. white.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing