We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch with Valentine's treats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Grille

Capital Grille
801 Hennepin Ave, LaSalle Plaza, Minneapolis, MN 55402-1818 (Downtown)
612-692-9000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 1,579 restaurants in Minneapolis
Price range: $60 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 8th Street
Description: Rich mahogany, sumptuous leather and cool marble set the stage for incomparable dining in the Hennepin Theatre District. Just blocks from the Target Center, you’ll finddry aged beef that’s always right on the mark. No wonder Zagat Survey wrote, “awesome steaks served by the pros are the order of the day.”
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch with Valentine's treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I went here for Valentine's day lunch. It was fantastic. I had the beef tenderloin filet with onions and mushrooms and loved it! My husband had the scallops that were big and delicious. We had the sides of butternut squash and green beans that were very tasty and a nice compliment to the meal. Berries with cream and an added chocolate ice cream to the top, couldn't be better. A rose and truffles for Valentine's day we're added as welling the house.

Great service and attentive and helpful wait staff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    152
    47
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Calamari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband wanted a steak for dinner. With several steakhouses in downtown Minneapolis, I picked this restaurant based on the online menu which included the "Pan Fried Calamari With Hot Cherry Peppers" appetizer and of course a good selection of steaks. The food did not disappoint - served at a perfect temperature, cooked just as requested. The service was a bit disappointing - our waiter started out strong (checking in just often enough to let us know he was engaged) however, towards the end of the evening the service fell apart. This would have been a 5 star visit sans the service drop.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, on all Points”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Went for dinner on Fri nite. Waitress, Lauren, was great. Bread basket is v good, she explained various menunitems. We each ordered a bone in sirloin, with kona finish ( a ground coffee mixture). This was very good atop our meat, and steaks were done to perfection. House wine was very adequate, altho an extensive wine list is availaable. We shared a lovely cocnut cream pie for dessert. Entire experience was great. Steaks were in mid 40$ range, but well worth it. Place has a warm intimate dining room, a very relaxing and pleasant atmosphere. Also, free valet service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Can't go wrong here! They have steak, lobster and awesome sides. For anniversaries and bdays they make it very special. Definitely would go there for a fun celebration!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Nice but like a lot of steak houses - formulaic and a bit boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

It is what it is, a fancy steak house selling quality steaks but very high prices that most iners aren't actually paying because they are on expense accounts. That is the back drop so let's get to the food. The sppetizers of calamari with spicy peppers are good as is the oyster platter and crab cakes. They are good but not special. The lobster bisque has a lot of nice lobster claw pieces. Salads are fresh and well put together. The steaks are all good but again as you would expect and not ultra special. The lobster option to add to the steaks adds a goodly amount of very nice lobster pieces. The salmon on the cedar plank could have a better char on the outside. Service is good and our waiter at least didn't try to over sell items. It is a good restaurant for this sort of unimaginative cuisine. if that is exactly what you want and you are ok with the prices, this is as good as any in this genre.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.