We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Restaurant

Union Restaurant
731 Hennepin Ave, Minneapolis, MN
Website
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #168 of 1,552 restaurants in Minneapolis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely view. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I ate at the Union Restaurant after it was recommended by our concierge. The dining room, upstairs, has glass walls and ceiling.. So the view is really fun. I had French onion soup and a salad. Both very good. My husband had the filet. He enjoyed his as well! A fun time...The waiter was quite accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    25
    50
    23
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Glass Roof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The glass roof is amazing, its really cool when it's cold outside and if feels like you are still outside. Food was amazing! Drinks were really good. We had a great girls night there - service was excellent

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok but not great...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Good location but with 2 other good seafood place around the corner the quality was not up to snuff. Hopefully they raise their game.
Wait staff was great. Cocktails were fantastic but the overall food quality was below par fo rthe price points.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, wi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I was highly disappointed in this restaurant after thinking it would be a great place for an evening dinner. My biggest complaints would be the poor service and the food. Our server was not very friendly. She seemed annoyed when we asked questions about the menu. We ordered drinks first and the sodas were delivered relatively quickly. Our cocktails didn't arrive with the sodas though. She then took our order for appetizers. We didn't receive our cocktails until after we were finished eating the appetizers. She didn't do a good job coming back to check on if we needed anything. I will say the appetizers were good and would recommend the curried mussels. It was the main course in which was very disappointing. The petite filet was tough (cooked medium) and was extremely salty. The asparagus was overdone and shriveled up. The potato puffs were very good. I've had better steaks at Apple Bee's and that's not saying much.

I can say that the atmosphere is great and the rooftop bar is beautiful. They do a nice job with the décor and it's beautiful. I would maybe go back for appetizers and cocktails on the rooftop, but would expect slow service. I would never go back for a meal that was mediocre at best topped with poor service. I'm hoping she was just having a bad night and the service isn't consistently poor. With several rooftop bars and great food in the area, it is doubtful that I'll go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Seafood market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Not the best meal in the world. The atmosphere was great, Ahi was super, dessert was a huge miss, wine list was okay. There was hardly anyone at the bar and it took 10 minutes for someone to come ask me what I needed. I won't be running back to the seafood area, not sure if the actual dining area is better.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Restaurant also viewed

 
Minneapolis, MN
 

Been to Union Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.