We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Minneapolis park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Minnehaha Park

Minnehaha Park
4801 Minnehaha Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55417
612 230 6400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 118 Attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Parks, Waterfalls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: One of the city's oldest and most popular parks.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“My favorite Minneapolis park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I LOVE the falls, bridges and the trail down to the Mississippi River. There is a great spot down the trail where parents bring their kids to wade in the water.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    137
    22
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“In the footsteps of "Hiawatha"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Minnehaha Park is known for the falls that give this south Minneapolis park its name. The creek flowing out of the basin of the falls continues east towards it's confluence with the mighty Mississippi just below the Ford Dam. The path along this 1.5 mile journey leads hikers through the mini canyon created by the creek, under a canopy of northern hardwoods, alongside a variety of wetland wildflowers, eventually to the steep banks of Old Man River himself. The path can be muddy at times with a few toe-catchers along the way, especially if you take the woodsy backside instead of the main thoroughfare (I don't even know if the lesser path through the brush is even still there?). It's a pleasant walk between the creek and the yellow-tan sandstone walls that rise up to offer a glimpse of blue sky beyond the lattice-work branches overhead. Once you reach the river, you'll see folks picnicking, tossing rocks into the current or just enjoying the cooling shade on a hot Minneapolis afternoon. The descent down the long, long flight of stairs from the parking lot up at the level with the lip of the falls awaits your climb back up at the end of this 3-mile loop, but the journey will be well worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Scenic falls and an easy hike to the Mississippi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The falls are pretty, regardless of season; in fact they're quite a site when frozen in winter. The park is spacious and occasionally has live entertainment, and the hike along Minnehaha creek to the Mississippi river is an easy one. A great way to get out and enjoy nature, and a special treat for out of town visitors.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Waterfalls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We went when the water was higher than normal and it was great! We actually had our anniversary the same day, so we knocked two birds out with one stone. It was great and I can't understand why we didn't go sooner since it's so close. GOOD TIMES!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely little suburban park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We spent a Sunday afternoon strolling through Minnehaha Park, and were very impressed by all the improvements the city had made to the landscape, such as the park buildings, trails and railings, flower gardens, and gazebo and arbor areas.

Our one disappointment is that the waterfall are no longer there; our friend from the city told us that the stream has been dry because of the drought this past summer, and may have been diverted upstream for farm use. We hope it's not a permanent state of affairs; the photo of the waterfall in its heyday is lovely, and would be a welcome site for family gatherings in the summertime.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minnehaha Park also viewed

 

Been to Minnehaha Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Minnehaha Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.