We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grab your bike and enjoy this love letter to the city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Rounds Scenic Byway

Grand Rounds Scenic Byway
400 South 4th St, Minneapolis, MN 55415 (Downtown)
612 661 4800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 269 things to do in Minneapolis
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 40+ miles of bike trails throughout the city
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Grab your bike and enjoy this love letter to the city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

If Grand Rounds sounds boring, put that idea out of your head. If you are interested in heading downtown and checking out the locks at St. Anthony near the iconic Gold Medal Flour sign, and milling ruins, this is for you. If you are interested in biking to a beach on a serene city lake, this is for you.
We rented bikes at Calhoun Bike Rental at James and Lake Street, and in 2 hours headed down to St. Anthony Falls and then back and around Cedar Lake and returned our bikes. It was lovely.
**Bring your own map though! It can get a little confusing since the Grand Rounds connect a bunch of paths so the paths continue where the Grand Rounds routes do not.

This was super fun!!! Our route was awesome and I would recommend it, but we didn't dilly dally so if you want to spend more time I would recommend renting for half a day.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florissant, Missouri, USA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Nice urban scenic drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice water views and attractive homes along this drive. Worth spending a couple hours. There are some historic sites along the way to see too. Make sure you get maps of the drive, though. It's easy to miss a turn and/or end up somewhere you didn't intend. Obviously, some scenic drives in natural areas top this one, but for city drives it is among the best.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wever ia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Grand bike trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Wanders around Minneapolis with some great vistas, lakes and parks. If you get tired, jump on the light rail.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great biking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Minneapolis is lucky to have this great trail which seems to go on for ever, around lakes, thru the city.. Good for families too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spend a day or a week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This chain of lakes in the Grand Round is amazing...you can drive it, bike it, or walk it. We've lived in West suburb of Minneapolis for years and finally took the time to explore the Grand Round...in fact we spent a whole day exploring each part of the area! (I must admit that we DROVE rather than bike...). Take a picnic or just sit and enjoy but there's also plenty of exploring if you choose....this is truly an urban surprise and its beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Rounds Scenic Byway also viewed

 

Been to Grand Rounds Scenic Byway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Rounds Scenic Byway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.