We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding reception at Mill City Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mill City Museum

Mill City Museum
704 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)
612-341-7555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 269 things to do in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the ruins of the Washburn A Mill, this museum chronicles the flour milling industry through multi-sensory and interactive exhibits and games.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wedding reception at Mill City Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was a wonderful change for a wedding reception from a boring conference room in a hotel or even a country club. The food was excellent and it was so interesting to be able to wander the museum during the reception. The views on the north side of the building overlooking the river were great also. I would recommend this facility to anyone who would like a unique location for an event.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    159
    28
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place with Lots of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I am so glad that I found out about the Mill City Museum! I love exposed brick, so I thought that the whole Mill Quarter was beautiful. The history of the flour mills was really interesting, and all of the staff members were incredibly knowledgeable and nice. I just wish that it wasn't winter when I went so that I could have gone out in the courtyard!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interactive, fun and family oriented!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have been interested in visiting the museum for quite some time. The entire facility is interactive, you can touch look and ask questions (have a water feature that is interactive). There is both an elevator ride that tells the story of the mill and a movie discussing the history of Minneapolis, both were interesting and entertaining. The movie narrator brought fun and character to the movie, it definitely didn't seem like a 19 minute movie. The staff were wonderful, very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this attraction for the entire family, plan about 2-4 hours depending on how long you like to linger.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Arrived about 3:45pm and found ourselves scheduled for the 4pm elevator to the top. A bit rushed and would have liked to have spent more time in the "hands on" exhibit in the lower floor. The elevator ride was interesting in that you sit and the ride is narrated and stops to view exhibits viewable from your seat. Once at the top you get a excellent view but again rushed since the 19-minute movie started at 4:30pm. By the time the movie is over you have but a few minutes to use the restroom and visit the gift shop.

Would definitely advise getting there earlier in the day so as not to be rushed and have more time in this excellent museum. Enjoyable and recommended.

Parking is metered in front or one of the local parking lots.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went to the Mill City Museum not expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. The Flower Tower elevator shaft was very well done and interesting. Can't beat the view from the observation deck either. Museum had nice displays and an area for kids to try things out. Overall a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill City Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mill City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill City Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.