We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Space, interesting history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill City Museum

Mill City Museum
704 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)
612-341-7555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 87 Attractions in Minneapolis
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the ruins of the Washburn A Mill, this museum chronicles the flour milling industry through multi-sensory and interactive exhibits and games.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Space, interesting history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This is a beautiful space, which is available to rent for events! Our friends were married here, and the place was stunning. Love the intermix of modern and old... The original Mill walls of brick still stand, and create an aura of a different era.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    141
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My daughter and I had the chance to tour this museum with a great guide. When she suggested this location I was a little apprehensive, but was pleasantly surprised. It is a great place to visit, and quite informative about the background of flour mills in the upper Midwest.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Totally cool, one of the best attractions I have ever seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

What a quality attraction...state of the art, so well done...great depiction of the flour mill industry, wonderful observation deck at top with spectatular views. Excellent should not miss it if anywhere near downtown Mnpls.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I was surprised at how cool this museum was! I don't know what I expected - some boring placards about flour, maybe - but it was a lot of fun! The history of Minneapolis movie was hilarious. I took one of my former students to see it - he's from overseas - and he loved it so much he went back with his sister. The elevator ride is a must-do; you can really see the history of Mill City come alive. The view from the top of the building is, of course, fantastic; much better than the Guthrie's "Invisible Bridge," for my money, even though they're right next door to each other. The more traditional "museum" parts of the museum are slightly less exciting, but still, I think Mill City Museum is definitely worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is a hidden Gem. I loved all the great history. I never new this part of town had developed so much in the past few years. I will be refering others to this hidden gem.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill City Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mill City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill City Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.