We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera at Mill City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill City Museum

Mill City Museum
704 S 2nd St, Minneapolis, MN 55401 (Downtown)
612-341-7555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 87 Attractions in Minneapolis
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the ruins of the Washburn A Mill, this museum chronicles the flour milling industry through multi-sensory and interactive exhibits and games.
Willmar, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Opera at Mill City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We attended the premier season of Mill City Opera's production, Pagliacci in July, 2012. The venu within the walls of the Mill City Museum's ruin was as exciting as the opera itself. Acoustics, lighting, the setting sun, cool night air after a hot July day and excellent musicians made this an unforgettable event! BTW, the baritone who sang the role of Tonio, Andrew Wilkowske, was outstanding--and he's my son!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    141
    25
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Well done for both adults & kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I came with an interest in factories and mills and I found the staff very knowledgable and friendly. There are many exhibits on the main floor with a special interactive section targeted for kids but not exclusive to them. I thought the elevator ride was an effective presentation of the life of the mill. The interpretation (actor) of William de la Barre was well done too. Add in th view of the river are from the top and the view of the mill ruins and it was an afternoon well spent. Don't come here in a hurry; come planning to spend some time an learn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interactive with a great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

It cost $11 for an adult. There are activities that all ages can enjoy and learn from. The people working there circulated around and were very outgoing and knowledgeable. The museum is built in the shell of a flour mill that burned in 1996 and there is still original machinery and walls integrated in the museum. The elevator was interesting and the view at the top was worth seeing - don't go on this part if you are scared of heights. A nice part is that the tower tour is accessible to people in wheelchairs - good on them to think of it.

Well worth going there once. It gives a good appreciation of why Minneapolis exists and why it exists where it does. I learned quite a bit of information by going here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, ohio, u.s.a.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Better than the usual history museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The fact that the museum is built within the shell of a huge flour mill gives it an authenticity that many historical centers lack. The elevator tour with vignettes of the mill's working days on each floor was the high point for me. The 19-min film was entertaining but more generic, about Minneapolis but not the mill specifically. Other displays good. The Ruins Courtyard is beautiful in the way that abandoned industrial building can be. And there's a great view of the river, falls, and downtown from the top. I recommend it highly to anyone interested in our industrial history. Oh, and a gift shop with lots of unique toys, books, etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

tons of things to keep the kiddo's interest peaked. Plus very informative for adults too!
well run museum overall

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill City Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mill City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill City Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.