We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bakken Museum

The Bakken Museum
3537 Zenith Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55416
612-926-3878
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #30 of 113 attractions in Minneapolis
Type: Science Museums, Libraries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Learning center that explores the history, impact and applications of electricity and magnetism in the life sciences.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful facility with interactive exhibits both inside and out. Definitely a good place to spend a couple of hours.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Frankenstein comes alive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location, fun exhibit. Nice garden. Fun to arrive by NiceRide bikes - there is a location right outside the museum.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Undirected...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Went there with a six year old male child and felt really undirected as to what to do and where to go. We kind of aimlessly wandered halls and levels while other interactives were going on with "special" groups (perhaps school groups or special interest groups), but there didn't seem to be much to do for the average parent off the street with just their child. What we did do was great, e.g. the main area and the Mary Shelly exhibit, but that only took about an hour total. I was just hoping for a bit of attention or guidance on how to best make use of the facility. The grounds and setting are beautiful, however. Would love to have visited in the summer months.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun place to take the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I love this place it's fun thing to do with the kids and my boys really liked it. The gardens are pretty in the summer too! Check it out for a fun activity!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“small but shocking museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit to this small but well-run museum. Created by Earl Bakken, the inventor of the first portable pacemaker and founder of Medtronics, the museum houses exhibits on the history of electricity from the 16th century on. Nice display of static electricity generators and leyden jars, room devoted entirely to the Frankenstein of Mary Shelley, good explanations of the science behind pacemakers and other implanted electrical-medical devices. Also a working Theremin that you can play.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakken Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Bakken Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bakken Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.